wireless config issue - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Internet > Computer Networking and Internet Hardware
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-06-2005, 05:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2
Default wireless config issue

My laptop and desktop both have wireless cards and i use Roadrunner high speed internet. I moved to another town and still have roadrunner. Neither work now that i have moved. Is this an IP problem? Any info is appreciated.
__________________

__________________
laredo77 is offline  
Old 05-06-2005, 06:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 391
Default

Reset the modem and router.Unplug the modem for about a min or so and plug it back in at the same time thr router is unplugged.Then see if router is getting an IP from the modem then set your router back up.
__________________

__________________
NeoExtreme is offline  
Old 05-06-2005, 08:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2
Default

Did that.........nothing.......
__________________
laredo77 is offline  
Old 05-06-2005, 09:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 391
Default

TRy plugging the Cat5 right form the cable modem to one of the computers and see if you get an IP that way.If you do then it is the router.Is the router getting an IP at all or just 0.0.0.0 's?
__________________
NeoExtreme is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.