Wireless Card & Ethernet Card on Same PC - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Internet > Computer Networking and Internet Hardware
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-09-2007, 09:32 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 8
Default Wireless Card & Ethernet Card on Same PC

Hello Everyone,

I have a wireless router at my home and just opposite the street, i have a lan setup.On one of the pc's there i have installed a wireless pci card to access the router since that is set up to provide internet.
so when i have both lan and wireless connections enabled on that pc, i am not able to access the internet. if i disable the ethernet connection having only the wireless connection, then i am able to access the internet.

Any ideas on how to proceed with this problem.

Secondly, if i am able to get internet connectivity on that pc, then how do i get other pcs on the lan to access the internet..?
__________________

__________________
thatdamngodd is offline  
Old 04-09-2007, 10:47 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default Re: Wireless Card & Ethernet Card on Same PC

You need to set up ICS on the host with the wireless card...

Computer Technology Forum - Internet connection sharing behind a router

Law provided LOTS of information in that thread.
__________________

__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 04-21-2007, 12:13 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 8
Default Re: Wireless Card & Ethernet Card on Same PC

thanks for that swift reply. I tried that but I found that the PC had an IP address which was same as that for the router.
__________________
thatdamngodd is offline  
Old 04-21-2007, 12:35 AM   #4 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Wireless Card & Ethernet Card on Same PC

you that is a must read, thx Ethereal Dragon for bringing it up. For the ip problem, simple do a repair on the comp with the same ip and DHCP should cover the rest
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 04-21-2007, 08:08 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default Re: Wireless Card & Ethernet Card on Same PC

You can assign the NIC a static IP address different than that of the router.
__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 05-14-2007, 04:10 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 8
Default Re: Wireless Card & Ethernet Card on Same PC

i tried giving it another static ip address but it still wouldn'twork.
also now i am not able to access the web interface for the router. (http://192.168.0.1/... etc) cant ping it either. i can access the net from my home.
__________________
thatdamngodd is offline  
Old 05-14-2007, 04:19 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 8
Default sharing files onwireless network

hello all,

i am zero when it comes to networking I want to share files between two laptops connected to the wireless network. i tried doing it the easy way ie cable from laptop to router. but when i type the ip address of the other laptop, it says 'network path not found' . how do i do it without the cable.

I have the LAN setup across the street so is it possible to access the files of LAN through the wireless network. I know about VPN but that deals with the internet and stuff..?

Thanks.
__________________
thatdamngodd is offline  
Old 05-14-2007, 04:55 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Kharn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7,638
Default Re: sharing files onwireless network

Hamachi : Stay Connected take a look at this, might not be what your looking for but I have used it to do what you are asking.
__________________
Visit this and do something for the world!
www.hackersforcharity.org

Want to do even more? Take a look here and join the fight on human trafficking.

Hear and you forget, see and you remember, do and you understand.

Kharn is offline  
Old 05-14-2007, 10:22 AM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default Re: Wireless Card & Ethernet Card on Same PC

If you cannot ping the router anymore, than I would suspect that you either have given it an IP address in a different subnet, or changed the IP on the wrong interface....

What IP address did you give the wireless NIC? I should have the first 3 octets the same as the router... 192.168.0..... the last number should be different, and the subnet mask should be the same. The default gateway would then be 192.168.0.1.

can you give further details about the LAN? What kind of hardware is used? How many hosts?


EDIT: Since you already had a thread going, I merged them...

Also, for the sharing, Did you enable file sharing on BOTH computers? Does it work when they are cabled together, or no?/EDIT
__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 05-14-2007, 09:42 PM   #10 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default Re: Wireless Card & Ethernet Card on Same PC

Quote:
Originally Posted by thatdamngodd View Post
Hello Everyone,

I have a wireless router at my home and just opposite the street, i have a lan setup.On one of the pc's there i have installed a wireless pci card to access the router since that is set up to provide internet.
so when i have both lan and wireless connections enabled on that pc, i am not able to access the internet. if i disable the ethernet connection having only the wireless connection, then i am able to access the internet.

Any ideas on how to proceed with this problem.

Secondly, if i am able to get internet connectivity on that pc, then how do i get other pcs on the lan to access the internet..?
OK at first when reading I immediate know why, when you have two connection to the same router for example a wireless connection and a wired connection. The wired connection (fast ethernet 100Mbps) will be used, simply because Ethernet connection have a lower metric because of it's speed and is chosen over wireless connection (802.11b and 802.11g 54Mbps). Now if the wired connection is used and incorrect IP information or bad physical connection can be blame for no connectivity. So trouble shoot the Ethernet (wired) connection.

Give us further information as stated by Ethereal_Dragon

I can give you further testing information. You can use the following ping to test your network card and ipconfig to display the IP information.

ping 127.0.0.1 will test your network card TCP/IP stack, driver, or the adapter if it's working.

ping ip address of the interface will test the connectivity of your routing table, it also tells your if the cable is plugin or function. Without a cable usually your routing table might be empty for the network or interface you try to ping.

ping default gateway test connectivity to the switch and router, it also test your network cable.

ping ip address of website ensure connectivity to the out side (Internet) and conformed that your router has a default route setup correctly.

ping dns to ensure a domain name server is available to resolve domain names to ip addresses

ping url of website test DNS and Internet connectivity.

Open up web browser and type in the URL to test the application layer, which is usually the last step if all works out.
__________________

__________________

Law is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB/WTT for wireless router cwiz Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 8 04-09-2007 07:33 AM
Wireless Router Help davyo Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 12 04-05-2007 08:20 AM
New Video Card Dieo New Systems | Building and Buying 5 04-02-2007 10:27 PM
Installed new graphics card, now pc won't turn on... capa2000 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 04-02-2007 05:42 PM
Graphics card fan iviv Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 03-31-2007 05:52 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.