Wireless broadband speed ??? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Internet > Computer Networking and Internet Hardware
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-17-2008, 10:15 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 48
Send a message via Yahoo to j4mes_bond25
Question Wireless broadband speed ???

I'm using Virgin's cable broadband.

I've a question about the speed of my broadband, in particular the one that I receive on my laptop and wondered if anyone around may be able to point me in right direction.

I've a PC upstairs connected to Virgin's modem & wired connected to PC. After upgrading my broadband speed to 10MB (from 2MB).

When running online speed check on 3 different website, the PC upstairs shows around 10MB of speed, however, on laptop it only shows around 2MB.

Laptop shows signal strength of wireless router as "very good" (understandably, upstairs it show "excellent" due to its close proximity to router). However, when I'm next to router i.e. when signal strength shows "excellent" and when I run a search, the test shows the speed of around 5-6MB.

I've disabled ZoneAlarm firewall, Spybot anti-spyware and AVG's anti-virus software, when running this speed test, but it's made no difference whatsoever & remains just under 1MB.

I've also ensured that the channels set on router and my wireless chip on laptop is same. Router's default setting's channel 6 and I've ensured the same set for my wireless chip on on laptop as well.

I've had new modem & router sent out by the Virgin people due to this, but the problem continuous, I'm afraid. Can anyone tell why I fail to get around or just under 10MB of broadband speed on my laptop?

Can investing in new & better router i.e. "N" router make any difference in broadband speed though? (bearing in mind it shows better speed at close proximity to router than running test result downstairs). Though, why would distance from router affect "broadband" speed (shouldn't it just affect the connectivity "strength" alone)?
__________________

__________________
Nope, I\'m NOT God, but I\'m British (which is the next best thing) ;)
j4mes_bond25 is offline  
Old 09-17-2008, 10:24 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: London
Posts: 2,581
Default Re: Wireless broadband speed ???

Hello,

What wireless network speed are you getting on your laptop (that is, how many Megabits per second between the wireless router and your laptop, not the Internet and your laptop)?
__________________

__________________
Alvin.C

Desktop PC Build 2 - Mini ITX
| Windows 10 Pro (x64) | Intel Xeon E3-1230 v5 @ 3.4 GHz | Zotac NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Mini | ARCTIC Freezer 11 LP CPU Cooler | ASUS P10S-I Mini ITX Server Motherboard | Global Memory 32GB DDR4-2133 ECC RAM | Kingston SSDNow UV400 128GB SSD + 2x128GB SSD RAID 0 | Corsair SF600 600W SFX Modular PSU | SilverStone Milo ML08 Mini ITX Case (with carry handle) |


Desktop PC Build 1 - Micro ATX
| Windows 10 Pro (x64) | Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz | MSI GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X | Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler | Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 Micro ATX Motherboard | Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-2133 RAM | Samsung 840 PRO 256GB SSD + 2x500GB SSD RAID 0 | Seasonic Platinum Fanless 520W Modular PSU | NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case |
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 09-17-2008, 10:32 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 48
Send a message via Yahoo to j4mes_bond25
Default Re: Wireless broadband speed ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alvin.C View Post
Hello,

What wireless network speed are you getting on your laptop (that is, how many Megabits per second between the wireless router and your laptop, not the Internet and your laptop)?
It's 54Mbps. In the past, it used to drop down but after syncronising the channel settings on both wireless chip on laptop and router to "Channel 11", it remains steady at 54Mbps.
__________________
Nope, I\'m NOT God, but I\'m British (which is the next best thing) ;)
j4mes_bond25 is offline  
Old 09-17-2008, 10:35 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: London
Posts: 2,581
Default Re: Wireless broadband speed ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by j4mes_bond25 View Post
It's 54Mbps. In the past, it used to drop down but after syncronising the channel settings on both wireless chip on laptop and router to "Channel 11", it remains steady at 54Mbps.
Have you tried doing a speed test with your laptop connected directly to the router via ethernet?
__________________
Alvin.C

Desktop PC Build 2 - Mini ITX
| Windows 10 Pro (x64) | Intel Xeon E3-1230 v5 @ 3.4 GHz | Zotac NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Mini | ARCTIC Freezer 11 LP CPU Cooler | ASUS P10S-I Mini ITX Server Motherboard | Global Memory 32GB DDR4-2133 ECC RAM | Kingston SSDNow UV400 128GB SSD + 2x128GB SSD RAID 0 | Corsair SF600 600W SFX Modular PSU | SilverStone Milo ML08 Mini ITX Case (with carry handle) |


Desktop PC Build 1 - Micro ATX
| Windows 10 Pro (x64) | Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz | MSI GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X | Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler | Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 Micro ATX Motherboard | Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-2133 RAM | Samsung 840 PRO 256GB SSD + 2x500GB SSD RAID 0 | Seasonic Platinum Fanless 520W Modular PSU | NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case |
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 09-17-2008, 11:19 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 48
Send a message via Yahoo to j4mes_bond25
Default Re: Wireless broadband speed ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alvin.C View Post
Have you tried doing a speed test with your laptop connected directly to the router via ethernet?
I was hoping to do that but don't think I'd be able to since I've an exclaimation mark next to Ethernet controller in Device manager, so it appears that wired ethernet adapter's controller driver's missing from my system.
__________________
Nope, I\'m NOT God, but I\'m British (which is the next best thing) ;)
j4mes_bond25 is offline  
Old 09-17-2008, 01:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Wireless broadband speed ???

Yes that is a clear sign that the ethernet drivers are missing. Install them and you should be good to go and test.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Internet connection sharing behind a router KSoD Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 8 03-01-2016 10:32 AM
Connecting To A Wireless Network That Is Not Broadcasting Ssid????????? COCOCOOKIE Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 3 06-29-2008 05:18 PM
Looking for a good wireless router. Any suggestions? guitarplyrstevo Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 06-18-2008 12:53 PM
Everything Wireless has Disappeared kalbifornia Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 3 11-21-2007 09:28 PM
Wireless Network Collapse (Urgent - Help Please!) Cunjo Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 7 05-21-2007 08:34 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.