Windows7 small home office backup solution. Is this setup ok or is there anything better?

Russel

Beta member
Hi, I know this is my first post but it's not one of those random hit and runs. I was planning to signup for a networking forum as I'm just getting into networking, but something urgent has come up and I don't yet have the expertise to solve it properly.

My mother has a small home office and there are two computers with critical data.

Both use Windows 7

Both user the Homegroup setting on Windows 7

And are connected to a small home netgear router.

I also happen to have my computer on the home group.

Also, there is no money to spend right now on proprietary software or more hardware.

Requirements:

• OS and programs must be separate from data in event of software failure or re-install.
  • Data must have a backup on another computer in event of hardware/hard drive failure.
  • Data must have previous versions, regardless of where.

My solution so far:

• Create two partitions:
    • C:\ - for OS and programs
    • D:\ - for data: desktop, My Everything, Outlook.pst, etc.
  • Use SyncToy from the Microsoft website to automatically backup data in the D:\ drive to a location on my computer.
  • Setup previous versions on each computer.

That's the simplest and easiest solution I could think of so far so satisfy those requirements and haven't found much on the net that doesn't require more proprietary software or a backup server which is unnecessary.

Option 2: