WiFi repeater - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Internet > Computer Networking and Internet Hardware
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-05-2015, 02:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Hull
Posts: 7
Default WiFi repeater

Hi

I'm having problems with a maginon WLAN Repeater WLR-510 that I bought from aldi. . Now I know this probably isn't the best as it's a cheap aldi product, but I still believe a product should work no matter what the cost.

The basic problem is I set it up, it appears to work, and then after a period of time (hours, minutes or days) it is still visible as a WiFi network to connect to, but it appears to lose the ability to issues ip address's and no longer works until I reset in and go through the setup again.

Any experience of these units and jigs kind of problem?

I am also unable to access the device, even when working to check the settings as I do not know which ip address it takes up and it does not seem to show as an attached device in my router.

Any help would be appreciated

Thanks

Craig

Sent from my D5803 using Tapatalk
__________________

craigfoot78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2015, 06:36 AM   #2 (permalink)
Dazed and confused
 
rulezero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: WiFi repeater

The repeater would have a default static IP, labelled on the back..

Disable your wireless on your PC, then connect the repeater to your PC with a Ethernet cable, you may need to change your static IP on your PC to connect to the repeater if its on a different subnet, then you can change the repeaters IPs to say 192.168.0.2 or 1.2 depending on main routers IP.

I think your issue is you have DHCP enabled on the repeater, this should be disabled so that all devices pick up there IPs from the main router. Otherwise you may get conflicts.
__________________

__________________
Don't like what I say, ban me!
rulezero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2015, 05:30 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Hull
Posts: 7
Default Re: WiFi repeater

Hi

Thanks for the reply.

The repeater defaults to 192.168.10.1 but once set up this is no longer the ip


Once I'm connected via the ethernet cable how would I change the ip of the repeater?

The dhcp bit makes sense, but I can't access the settings page as I don't know how to connect to it once it's set up. .

I'll have another play

Sent from my D5803 using Tapatalk
craigfoot78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2015, 06:30 AM   #4 (permalink)
Dazed and confused
 
rulezero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: WiFi repeater

Quote:
Originally Posted by craigfoot78 View Post
Hi

Thanks for the reply.

The repeater defaults to 192.168.10.1 but once set up this is no longer the ip


Once I'm connected via the ethernet cable how would I change the ip of the repeater?

The dhcp bit makes sense, but I can't access the settings page as I don't know how to connect to it once it's set up. .

I'll have another play

Sent from my D5803 using Tapatalk
Once plugged in, change your computer IP to a static one, say 192.168.10.2

Then. open a web browser and type in the repeater IP, 192.168.10.1 - you will then get access, it may have a PW but that should also be on the back.

Once in, disable DHCP, and config the settings so its a repeater, the SSID should be a different name, but keep the security the same, then change the repeater IP to 192.168.1.2 or 0.2 depending on your routers IP, then on your computer set your IP back to dynamic.

You should then be able to connect to the repeater.

let me know how it goes
__________________
Don't like what I say, ban me!
rulezero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2015, 09:54 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard of Wires
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: 4321
Posts: 696
Default Re: WiFi repeater

ALDI Wireless wifi extender - Cable Forum
Post #11
setishock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2015, 02:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Hull
Posts: 7
Default Re: WiFi repeater

Yeah I did come across that post . . But when I do as it suggests the default gateway address is 192.168.0.1 which is my router not the extender.

Sent from my D5803 using Tapatalk
craigfoot78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2015, 03:13 PM   #7 (permalink)
Dazed and confused
 
rulezero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: WiFi repeater

Quote:
Originally Posted by craigfoot78 View Post
Yeah I did come across that post . . But when I do as it suggests the default gateway address is 192.168.0.1 which is my router not the extender.

Sent from my D5803 using Tapatalk
Ignore his post (sorry), its making this confusing.. did you follow my steps above?
__________________
Don't like what I say, ban me!
rulezero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2015, 03:14 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Hull
Posts: 7
Default Re: WiFi repeater

No I'm gonna have a go later. . I'll let you know how I get on.

Sent from my D5803 using Tapatalk
craigfoot78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2015, 04:30 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Hull
Posts: 7
Default Re: WiFi repeater

There are no options in my repeater to set the ip address or disable dhcp :-(

Sent from my D5803 using Tapatalk
craigfoot78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2015, 05:07 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Hull
Posts: 7
Default Re: WiFi repeater

Ah. . I've found some settings.

So here's what I've done.

Reset the repeater
Disable WiFi on my computer
Plug into the repeater via ethernet
Set the computer ip to 192.168.10.2
Logged onto the repeater at 192.168.10.1
In the lan settings I had 3 options for dhcp, server client or disabled. I disabled it.
In the same section set the ip to 192.168.0.20
Saved the settings and at this point I lost connection to the repeater.
Changed computer ip to 192.168.0.2
Logged back onto the repeater using 192.168.0.20
Ran the repeater setup wizard which connected to my router and asked for the password which I entered.
The ssid was set to WiFi-repeater so I left this alone
I now had Internet access on my computer via the repeater still plugged in via ethernet
Logged off repeater and unplugged ethernet.
Connected back via WiFi to my router
Logged onto repeater using 192.168.0.20
Able to connect and view settings! :-)
Switched my computer from being connected to the router to connecting via the repeater, had Internet access! :-)
Again able to log on to the repeater. .

All sounds good so far! Now just to see how it goes and if it carries on working or drops out again. .

Thanks for your help! :-)

Sent from my D5803 using Tapatalk
__________________

craigfoot78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wifi repeater query Venom84 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 01-05-2015 07:33 AM
Wifi repeater in home Lanky007 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 06-28-2013 10:13 AM
WIFI AP as universal repeater (directional antenna) thosecars82 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 1 10-11-2010 04:39 AM
Need range extender/repeater Metallarcust7 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 1 09-16-2005 05:17 PM
Wireless network problem (using a repeater) clever_j Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 3 09-08-2005 07:47 PM


Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.