What options do I have for a 3-PC wired network?

Status
Not open for further replies.

DJ EndurancE

In Runtime
I am new to networking, so I am seeking help yet again from the forums! :)

I am wanting to connect 3 PCs together on a wired network -- just for home use. I would like to know what options I have available for doing this, and what equipment I would need. (And how I could keep it low cost!) :D I've been planning to connect 2 computers with a crossover cable, but now I'd like to add a third machine that I just finished rebuilding.

Would love any help I can get. :nerd:

If you want all of these computers to be able to access the internet then you need a router, such as this one (unless your modem has a DHCP server built in). You might want to buy a wireless router if you think you might want one in the future.

If you don't need the computers to be able to access the internet (or your modem has DHCP) then you can use a switch or a hub.

You need a router. I'm assuming none of your devices have a DCHP server, as it is uncommon for anything but routers to have this. Go to Best Buy, Circuit City, or even Wal-Mart (or other store that has computer stuff) and look for a router. All you'll need is a 4-port Wired Ethernet router, but for just a bit more you can probably get a wireless 54g router in case you ever decide to use a WiFi device (Nintendo Wii, DS, PSP, laptop, PDA, iPhone, digital camera, etc) in the future. You can disable the wireless function on a wireless router if you don't want to take the security risk of leaving it on, but you can then turn it on later if you need it.

Plug your modem into the WAN port on your router, then plug the PC's into the LAN ports (probably 4 of them). If you ever add more wired computers, you can expand your network using a switch. Plug a cord between one of the router's LAN ports to any port on the switch, and you'll have more ports (the router's DCHP server will assign IP addresses to devices on the switch as well).