What is the best router to use when ComCast is our cable provider?

Status
Not open for further replies.

soarwitheagles

Lookin' for higher ground
Hi everyone!

I know next to nothing about setting up a router, so I am a newbie that really needs a lot of help. Here is our situation:

My mom and dad's router does not seem to be working. It will constantly go down several times every day and now it will remain down for hours at a time.

They told me they had the Comcast tech come out to check the Comcast cable modem and the ComCast tech told them the cable model is fine.

Well, here is what I have found so far:

The ComCast Cable Model is model: Arris TM402P/110. All the lights show solid continuous green with the exception of the link light...and the link light blinks constantly. That is all I can tell you about the ComCast Cable Modem at this time.

The Router they are using is a NetGear WGR614. I think this is where the problem lies...

Can anyone help me with this?

I guess I have some questions....

1. What would be the best user friendly router to purchase and set up for my mom and dad considering they would like it to include the wireless feature and have the capacity to hard wire 4-5 computers/printers?

2. Where can I purchase such a router?

3. Is there some way I can test this NetGear WGR 614 to see if it is truly the evil culprit we all think it is before we invest in a new router?

4. Last, if the NetGear Router is truly the problem, what is the best way to blast it into a zillon pieces [we would like to take out our faulty computer hardware generated rage on some computer component instead of upon one another].

It's me, Cool, Calm, Kind, and Patient, Freddy [oh crap, my nose is growing again].

1. Linksys or DLink

2. Onine or in a store like Circuit City for Linksys.