Uninformed gamer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Internet > Computer Networking and Internet Hardware
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-22-2019, 08:54 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: United States
Posts: 1
Default Uninformed gamer

New home and there's only one room I can out my computer in due to the way we arranged our boys room. Unfortunately it's about as far from my modem/router as it can be and I get about 20 Mbps while downstairs I get 120.

I've heard the Google nodes are the easiest and best "consumer friendly" option out there but is there a node I can hook an Ethernet to upstairs? Or what are my options besides stringing a line through my attic? I've done that before. Sucked.

Thanks in advance,
Uninformed
__________________

__________________
Kevmich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2019, 07:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 30,062
Default Re: Uninformed gamer

My two cents, just run a cable man if you have the availability.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2019, 10:18 AM   #3 (permalink)
Casually Filthy
 
PopoChubbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Middle Earth
Posts: 1,810
Default Re: Uninformed gamer

Running a solid connection is absolutely the best, most reliable way to go. It might suck to actually run it, but once it's done, you'll be glad to have the quality connection. I mean, if you think it's that bad, maybe get a quote on how much it would cost to have CAT5/6 run through your house, and see the damage on paper. Might be encouraging to see how much you'd save putting up with the labor and doing it yourself?
__________________
Currently Playing: Prime - Letterkenny PS4 [VividCool] - BL3 and Shadowkeep!
PopoChubbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2019, 12:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Great Lakes State
Posts: 3,527
Default Re: Uninformed gamer

I will agree that running a cable is your best option. You could try using a Powerline ethernet adapter. Not as good as running a cable, and depending on your existing wiring it may be as good if not better than wireless
https://www.amazon.com/TP-Link-Power...tronics&sr=1-4

This is just an alternative if you can't get a wireless signal and can not run a cable
__________________
Windows 10 .... It wants to be found and installed so it can be the one Operating System to rule us all.
Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sean ‘Day[9]‘ Plott – PC Gamer UK’s Gamer Of The Year Hefemeister PC Gaming 0 12-29-2010 07:41 AM
Gamer’s Control Makes Firefox Gamer Friendly Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 07-24-2010 11:21 AM
Pc Gamer In Distress!!someone Help!! snoblind PC Gaming 2 06-24-2004 11:01 PM
How much diff from SB Aud2 ZS gamer and Aud gamer bomt697 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 7 05-16-2004 04:14 PM
Need WinME Driver for Sound Blaster Live! 5.1 (MP3+, Gamer) sumando Microsoft Windows and Software 2 11-10-2002 11:10 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.