too many connections to this pc error?

Status
Not open for further replies.

HudsonSpeeder

Beta member
Hello to all,

I am not a programmer , nor a tech wiz , but I do the "network" setup within our business. We are presently running 26 pc's ALL running win98 SE.(manufacturer of our product will not run there software on anything else). We have recently setup a messaging program in which one pc becomes the server and all the others become clients. All pc's have mapped drives connected to the shared folder on the "server" which holds all the messages. The problem is that often we get an error saying there are already too many connections connected to the "server". When I reboot the "server" it's ok for sometimes a day or more. Then the same error. Please be informed that the "server" is not really a server it's just a regular client networked which is serving the messages.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks to all

Windows 98 has a known problem with a limit on the number of simultaneous connections. If you need to use windows, you'll have to upgrade to fix this problem. There isn't a way to work around this one that I know of.

not running SQL, are you? depending on what ver of SQL, you have a set number of connections. if you have a program not releasing its SQL connection after use, it will eventually reject anymore connections. Since win98 has a set number of connections, this maybe a similar case, too.

MDAC installed

Hi Guys,

First thanks for the replies. I did check , we also have a "BROWSE" control installed which uses "Microsoft Data Access Components (MDAC) 2.60.6526.3 English" which is SQL. If I understand correctly I think I should at least upgrade my "server" to win2000 or XP. What do you think?

Thanks again for your help, it's really appreciated.