Speed not what I pay for - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Internet > Computer Networking and Internet Hardware
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-17-2017, 12:45 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: SoCal
Posts: 11
Default Speed not what I pay for

My ISP (COX) has me under their 300mbps for the internet plan I have with them.

But, when I do a speed test I get around 130-150mbps only. Is there a way to reach the full potential of the speed I pay for?

My router is: Asus AC3100

My Modem is: Motorola SB6121

Ethernet Cable: CAT 7 Cable

My computer is wired to my motherboard which is MSI CARBON X99
__________________

Qsirk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2017, 02:06 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,880
Default Re: Speed not what I pay for

That modem can't handle 300Mbps, it caps out at just above what you are seeing in a perfect world.

You need at minimum an Arris SB6141, which in an ideal world, if you have all 8 channels available and they aren't flooded with other users, would be just enough to cover your service plan speeds...

So yeah, you are getting what you paid for I suppose if you chose the SB6121.
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2017, 10:53 AM   #3 (permalink)
The strange one
 
iParanormalx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: US
Posts: 1,139
Default Re: Speed not what I pay for

Wouldn't the ISP advertise speeds in bits, rather than bytes?

300 mbps = ~37.5 Mbps so the Motorola should be ok right?
__________________

iParanormalx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2017, 01:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: SC
Posts: 235
Default Re: Speed not what I pay for

Quote:
Originally Posted by c0rr0sive View Post
That modem can't handle 300Mbps, it caps out at just above what you are seeing in a perfect world.

You need at minimum an Arris SB6141, which in an ideal world, if you have all 8 channels available and they aren't flooded with other users, would be just enough to cover your service plan speeds...

So yeah, you are getting what you paid for I suppose if you chose the SB6121.
What c0rr0sive said is your limiting factor is true. The ISP may have a max of 300, but your modem will only be able to hit half.

iParanormalx, the values are the same type or rating Mbps or mbps is megabits per second. Megabyte per second would be MBps.

So, if the modem can only reach a max speed of 172 Mbps then the OP is limited to 172 or less due to the modem.
bpm55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2017, 02:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,880
Default Re: Speed not what I pay for

Generally when an ISP advertises speeds, it's in Mbps... However, most people will go mbps, and I will think it's Mbps (yay for dealing with online customers?) as that is typically what they mean. However, the moment the p gets dropped, it becomes something entirely different...

Mbps = Megabits Per Second
mbps = Megabits Per Second
MB/s = Megabytes Per Second
mb/s = Megabytes Per Second

While that is actually incorrect, the sad truth is, to most people seeking help in other forums that have limited or no technical background, that would be the closest to accurate.

Just have to kinda wing it and try to figure out what they are really saying.

What's real fun is when someone starts throwing gigagobbits around... That's a story for another time. -.-
c0rr0sive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2017, 02:31 PM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,207
Default Re: Speed not what I pay for

An avid person can already tell what they're trying to say anyways. Says his plan is 300, well we know that's going to be Megabits.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2017, 03:01 PM   #7 (permalink)
The strange one
 
iParanormalx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: US
Posts: 1,139
Default Re: Speed not what I pay for

I just saw that the modem had a 10/100/1000 ethernet. Wonder why they'd put a gig ethernet chipset on a modem that couldn't support that throughput?

The specs list 172 Mbps so I was kinda thinking that was download speed in bytes because that's a little faster than a gigabit. 1000 / 8 is little slower than 172 Mbps... Just how I perceived it. I'd be pissed if I bought that modem and It didnt work with my 300mpbs internet.
__________________

iParanormalx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2017, 03:21 PM   #8 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,207
Default Re: Speed not what I pay for

The speeds are limited to how many channels in each direction the modem has and what version DOCsis. If it supported 172Mb downstream putting a 10/100 port would bottleneck it, next step up is gigabit. I had this same problem when I first went 100Mb when available at my old apartment. My modem only supported 50Mb max and a simple trip to Walmart and I was ready to go.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2017, 04:14 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,880
Default Re: Speed not what I pay for

Anymore it's just cheaper to put a 10/100/1000 controller into a product vs. a 10/100 controller.

Hell, none of my modems will shoot above ~80Mbps, yet, they come with 1Gbit interfaces.
c0rr0sive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2017, 02:55 PM   #10 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,207
Default Re: Speed not what I pay for

Yea, I don't think a lot of people realize gigabit ethernet is almost 20 years old and that it's stupid cheap to implement everywhere. It's why I whine bitch and complain that we still don't have 10Gb mainstream.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A good machine to run a large minecraft server on?OR Can i buy a minecrat server (not pay monthly)? JackOfSpades11 New Systems | Building and Buying 1 07-31-2012 11:54 PM
Maybe it doesn't pay to wait ( not talking about q6600 ) Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 18 07-29-2007 05:15 PM
Wireless Router Connection Speed Prob (not signal strength or internet speed) hereticiv Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 4 04-26-2006 08:09 PM
Checking Internet Speed/ Download Speed/ Upload Speed JLKRMetallica Internet Software and Browsers 2 01-31-2006 01:34 AM
Scripting help? Will Pay you! cross Microsoft Windows and Software 1 07-19-2002 03:13 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.