Sonicwall AP provisioning over Metro Ethernet

duffman667

Beta member
First of all Hi. My name is Matt and I am a Network Admin/Web Designer for a healthcare facility. I have recently been revamping our wireless because the Net Admin I replaced didn't seem to know a whole lot about WiFi. I split off our WiFi into 3 VLAN's (Private, Public, Phones). Everything works fine at our main location but I am wanting to use Access points at one of our MAN locations across the street using the same setup but I can't get the Access points to provision back to our WLC at our main location. Here are some details:

WLC is a Sonicwall NSA 3500
All AP's are Sonicpoint N's
Main Location IP 172.16.0.0/23
Branch Location I am trying to connect Sonicpoints is 192.168.1.0/24
All routers/switches are 3com/HP
WiFi VLan 100 is Public (172.16.100.x), 200 (172.16.200.x)is Private and 205 (172.16.205.x) is phones

The diagram kind of looks like this:
MAIN LOCATION
S1-------R1--------MetroEthernet--------R2-------S2

So I am not sure if I need to pass VLAN traffic over my Metro Ethernet link or what exactly I need to do to get those Sonicpoints to provision. Some ideas I have had thrown at me:
EoIP
Autonomous AP with Repeaters
Bridge Connections
QinQ
Install 2nd WLC at branch location and use S2S VPN back to main location
Nothing, Should work just by plugging AP into switch on Branch Side
Can't be done with Sonicwall's current version.

Needless to say I am looking for any advice or information that would help. This crap was so much easier to setup using Cisco lol. Thanks for any help!

Matt

Last edited:
Ok,,,,you say you are an network admin with other background......

This means to me that you have a lot of experance, (hands on, schooling,etc) and you SHOULD know the answer already.

As some one who is only 'street' schooled in a lot of network back ground, I have to say that by asking the question you did, I would not like working with you.