So I changed operating systems, and now I can't connect to the internet... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Internet > Computer Networking and Internet Hardware
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-26-2007, 08:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 18
Default So I changed operating systems, and now I can't connect to the internet...

Ok, so here's the deal; I started using a really old computer (like 10+ years old) a couple of months ago, which had Windows ME installed and our wireless internet (Linksys WRT54G) set up, and everything worked fine. Then one day the computer had a huge crash and fry thing and the computer didn't work any more, so I wiped everything, installed a version of XP that was supposed to be backup for the computer I'm currently on, and it worked again. I could connect to the internet and everything was fine, but because that version of XP was already being used, it would expire every month and I would have to reinstall, which was a pain.

So I recently got myself Windows 2000, and it's installed and works fine and everything, but I just can't get it to connect to the internet; it seems like it just doesn't realize that there is a connection there that's available for it to connect to . I'm a complete noob at computers, so does anyone know what my problem is? I know I should be able to connect to the internet, because I have on that computer many times before, but it's just not working. Thanks in advance
__________________

__________________
GRYT7 is offline  
Old 05-26-2007, 08:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: .
Posts: 8,076
Default Re: So I changed operating systems, and now I can't connect to the internet...

did you activate the copy of windows?
__________________

__________________
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 05-26-2007, 09:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 18
Default Re: So I changed operating systems, and now I can't connect to the internet...

I don't think so, but I don't recall it asking me to either...
__________________
GRYT7 is offline  
Old 05-26-2007, 09:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: .
Posts: 8,076
Default Re: So I changed operating systems, and now I can't connect to the internet...

does windows tell you to activate it after 30 days?
__________________
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 05-26-2007, 09:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 18
Default Re: So I changed operating systems, and now I can't connect to the internet...

It did when I was using XP, and then I couldn't activate because it was already activated on the other computer, hence the problem. But on 2000 it hasn't said anything about activating that I remember.
__________________
GRYT7 is offline  
Old 05-26-2007, 09:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: .
Posts: 8,076
Default Re: So I changed operating systems, and now I can't connect to the internet...

omg no no no, call the phone number, tell them you reinstalled it on only ONE (1) computer. Give them the code and theyll activate it for you.
In older versions of windows, activation were nessessary because of the lower piracy rates back then
__________________
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 05-26-2007, 09:16 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 18
Default Re: So I changed operating systems, and now I can't connect to the internet...

I'm not using XP anymore, and it was on 2 computers at the time. I'm using Windows 2000, and I'm not having any problems activating that
__________________
GRYT7 is offline  
Old 05-26-2007, 09:18 PM   #8 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: .
Posts: 8,076
Default Re: So I changed operating systems, and now I can't connect to the internet...

w/e have fun with your problem then
__________________
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 05-26-2007, 09:21 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 18
Default Re: So I changed operating systems, and now I can't connect to the internet...

...Thanks....
__________________
GRYT7 is offline  
Old 05-27-2007, 04:41 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 319
Send a message via AIM to BoysNightOut
Default Re: So I changed operating systems, and now I can't connect to the internet...

loller
__________________

__________________
AMD 3400+ 2.4GHz
1GB DDR Crucial RAM
WD 120GB(2x)/250GB
BoysNightOut is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.