Slow intenernet only in my room (hardwire) - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Internet > Computer Networking and Internet Hardware
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-21-2018, 11:00 AM   #11 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 30,062
Default Re: Slow intenernet only in my room (hardwire)

The tplink would probably work fine but I'm not liking the fact that it doesn't have status LEDs. I have that Netgear one in my bag I take to work everyday and it works fine.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2018, 06:53 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
ckop11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Minnesota U.S.
Posts: 216
Default Re: Slow intenernet only in my room (hardwire)

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
The tplink would probably work fine but I'm not liking the fact that it doesn't have status LEDs. I have that Netgear one in my bag I take to work everyday and it works fine.
Guess i go with the netgear one then.
THanks again PP Mguire!
__________________

__________________
ckop11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2018, 12:58 AM   #13 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 30,062
Default Re: Slow intenernet only in my room (hardwire)

Protip, get it from Best Buy (or Amazon) if you can and if it doesn't fix the problem take it back lol.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2018, 09:28 AM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Default Re: Slow intenernet only in my room (hardwire)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ckop11 View Post
we pay 100mbps business class.. because of our company, n working from home is a big deal for us. My fathers computer which is hardwired near our mediacom modem. Has a 1750ac tp link. He rn tonight gets 97-112mbps i have a hardwire just like hime 50ft cat5 to my Netgear fs105... that goes to my computer and ps4. I think somethings wrong.. ?



46Mb through a 100Mb port is pretty fair. You don't actually get a 100Mb of bandwidth though a 100 Mb port, as there is quite a bit of overhead lost in framing etc.


A Gb switch to replace that old 10/100 Netgear would probably help.


Would be nice to hear how it worked out for you.
__________________
Drone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2018, 03:25 PM   #15 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 30,062
Default Re: Slow intenernet only in my room (hardwire)

There's way less overhead than with gigabit actually. On 10/100 gear I can typically get 10MB/s sustained locally granted the machine the old card is in can handle it (I don't own anymore 10/100 switches). That 10MB/s would equate to ~80Mb and that's assuming the CPU isn't a bottleneck. (I did these tests on my 98box)
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Please help, computer will not allow me to connect to internet via hardwire soarwitheagles Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 9 06-23-2015 12:12 AM
DSL only works in one room? Ksingler Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 6 08-06-2010 04:08 PM
Read-Only / Display-Only System Information tool Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 03-18-2009 07:03 PM
Q6600 for only $200 at Micro Center (Instore Only) krazyq Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 0 02-21-2008 08:45 AM
Slow! Slow! Slow!!!!!!!! triplej_38118 Microsoft Windows and Software 3 08-11-2006 12:15 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.