sharing cpus - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Internet > Computer Networking and Internet Hardware
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-15-2004, 12:03 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 142
Default sharing cpus

it is possible to network 2 pc so that they share cpu power or ram or video proceseing power?? if be able to run of the 1 screen??
__________________

__________________
inatey is offline  
Old 01-15-2004, 12:09 AM   #2 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

In a simple answer, no.
You're not going to be able to do this given a commercial operating system from Microsoft...thats for sure. This kind of operation isn't built to "share" over a network.

-Mike
__________________

__________________
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 01-16-2004, 12:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

almost, there is a PCI expansion card you can buy that allows 2 people to share the same computer using another set of keyboard, mouse, monitor. it behaves as if it were 2 separate computers. i saw this product in a www.tigerdirect.com sales catalog.

this is the only way that i am aware of. there is no way to do this through networking exactly the way you describe it. the networking speed would have to be fast enough to display moving video , memory, hard disk, ect. the closest thing is something called thin client or fat client, not what you want.
__________________
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 01-16-2004, 12:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

What about clustering? Using multiple machines to act as one unit. Just have to run the right OS to do it though... This might be closer to what he is looking for... Although clustering requires 3 PCs to start. 1 is the control unit that the other 2 send and recieve requests to and from. But they can be grown to encompass many machines. not sure there is even a limit...
__________________
Inaris is offline  
Old 01-16-2004, 02:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

Clustering will not work with 2 PCs......
__________________
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 01-16-2004, 04:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

I know that, but I think this is what he is looking for... Something like this anyway...
__________________
Inaris is offline  
Old 01-16-2004, 05:40 PM   #7 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

Sorry, didn't read the latter part of the above post where you said it wouldn't work.

-Mike
__________________
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 01-17-2004, 01:00 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 333
Send a message via AIM to Harold III
Default

mosix? for linux
__________________
I do this for Aiur. NOT YOU.
Harold III is offline  
Old 01-17-2004, 06:57 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 142
Default

yes clustering!! that is what i mean!! i have a 3rd pc but it is a p2... would it still work?? how would i go about doing it?
__________________
inatey is offline  
Old 01-17-2004, 08:05 PM   #10 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

Ok, I can walk you through this and/or point you to a directional site. But what operating systems are you using?

-Mike
__________________

__________________
mikesgroovin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.