Shared Internet w/ 2 NIC's? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Internet > Computer Networking and Internet Hardware
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-09-2006, 10:21 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 273
Default Shared Internet w/ 2 NIC's?

I read somewhere its possible with windows xp, to use your PC like a hub and run internet to another PC (or in my case I'd like to run it to my PS2) using 2 network cards an a crossover cable. Aside from setting up the hardware, what would I have to do to set this up on my PC?
__________________

__________________
Laptop:
Dell E1705
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.0GHz T7200
2GB DDR2 667MHz
80GB 5400RPM HDD
256MB nVidia 7900 GeForce Go

sayaprayer is offline  
Old 07-10-2006, 12:41 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 24
Default

it would be operating like a layer 2 bridge (two ports). You wouldn't need a crossover either. In "network connections" you can modify your interfaces to bridge, it's really quite easy. I don't remember the exact procedure for windows, but look around in the network connections for something about bridging.
__________________

ibarrere is offline  
Old 07-10-2006, 01:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

You're going to enable Internet Connection Sharing; this will be the software that will turn your PC into a basic router. Hardware you will need is two NIC on the PC and cross-over cables. Optional hardware are a Switch or Hub which provide more ports for other computers, but this would need a straight through cable to work.

http://www.practicallynetworked.com/sharing/xp_ics/

It isn't that difficult to configure the PS2, just get into a PS2 network setting and manually statically assign the address in the guide, that's about it.
Law is offline  
Old 07-10-2006, 01:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 24
Default

looks like you have a better grasp of that

why would he need crossovers?
ibarrere is offline  
Old 07-10-2006, 05:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

Crossover cable are use for connecting PC to PC together because they have identical pins, therefore the transmission pair has to crossover to the receiving pair hence the name crossover cables. Straight-through cables are use to connect two device with opposite pin, like a PC to a Switch.
Law is offline  
Old 07-10-2006, 07:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 24
Default

ohhhhh right I got it... I was thinking there would be a switch in line or something. Good call
__________________

ibarrere is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.