Setting up a VPN - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Internet > Computer Networking and Internet Hardware
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-12-2007, 05:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Burlington, Wisconsin
Posts: 209
Send a message via Yahoo to DerekGoodson
Smile Setting up a VPN

Can someone please send me in the right direction when it comes to setting up a VPN?

Thanks
Derek
__________________

__________________
I would Love to have a Signature but I can't get the the ink to stick on the screen! Duh!

Owner of Derek's Custom Computers
www.DereksCustomComputers.com
DerekGoodson is offline  
Old 06-12-2007, 05:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Setting up a VPN

a home network? to share files, internet and printers?
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 06-12-2007, 05:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Burlington, Wisconsin
Posts: 209
Send a message via Yahoo to DerekGoodson
Default Re: Setting up a VPN

Looking for more like remote via the internet... So I can access my home computer from work.

Derek
__________________
I would Love to have a Signature but I can't get the the ink to stick on the screen! Duh!

Owner of Derek's Custom Computers
www.DereksCustomComputers.com
DerekGoodson is offline  
Old 06-14-2007, 12:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default Re: Setting up a VPN

We'll need to know more about your computer and network equipments to help you out.

There are many options beside VPN you can take, VPN seems to be a much more expensive and complicating task to configure. You can go with remote software solution which requires little knowledge and effort. Take a look at VNC, Radmin, PCAnywhere and Windows RDC.

There's also website that could help you achieved this simple process of connecting to your home computer like logmein.com.

If you have Windows XP Pro, you can setup a VPN server using PPTP. Here's an example Configure Windows XP Professional to be a VPN server - Network Admin - Insight - ZDNet Asia

Some high-end SOHO routers can also do VPN.

I use pfsense and openVPN to do this for certain small business clients (less than 100 users). Depending on the WAN connection.
__________________

Law is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Setting up Windows Server with Dynamic IP King Tyler 1989 Microsoft Windows and Software 4 05-21-2007 05:29 PM
Setting up a web server ZenOswyn Microsoft Windows and Software 2 05-01-2007 10:06 PM
Need help setting up virtual machine apdrummer Microsoft Windows and Software 4 04-27-2007 08:52 PM
Setting Up A Wireless Connection Jasper44 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 4 04-18-2007 07:24 PM
Setting Up a home server infiltrator7 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 5 04-09-2007 08:50 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.