Setting Up a home server

Status
Not open for further replies.

infiltrator7

Daemon Poster
Basically, my home network is a workgroup with 3 wired computers and 1 wireless computer (and two wireless devices) connected through a FiOS router. My family recently aquired a computer that is about 5 years old and has decent specs for what we would need as a server (mostly). This "server" would probably be used to store files that everyone can access, and not much else. I have a few questions?

1. Right now, the computer has a 20 gb drive (IDE). Would it be best to install the operating system (I think i'll use either XP or win 2000) on the 20gb drive?
1a.) even though this computer only has 2 IDE connections (1 is being used by the 20gb drive), can I buy a SATA RAID card, and connect two new hard drives via the SATA card?

2.) How can I remotely access this computer?

3.) Anything else you guys think I should know about this?

Thanks, I'm kind of new to this whole server thing so bear with me....

1. Yeah, sure, you can install the OS on that drive.
1a. With the 2 IDE ports that are on the motherboard, you can attach 4 devices. There is a primary and secondary port, and each port supports both a master & slave. Just keep note that optical drives will use the IDE ports also.

Getting a SATA card would work, as long as you have an open PCI port on the motherboard. Keep in mind that some cards have RAID, and others do not. If you ARE getting a RAID card, make sure to look into the different flavors of RAID, the most popular ones being RAID0, RAID1, RAID0+1, and RAID5 and JBOD.

2. You will want to enable file sharing on the computer. Also, if you have a printer, you can connect the printer to it, and share the printer over the network. This will allow any host on the network to access both the storage on the computer (only the folders you share of course), and also allow access to the printer.