Running Seperate Installations on 1 Computer? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Internet > Computer Networking and Internet Hardware
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-17-2008, 11:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Lake Oswego, OR
Posts: 4
Send a message via MSN to Tatsumasa
Default Running Seperate Installations on 1 Computer?

I was just wondering if its possible to run a program installed on My Computer. And run the same program again installed on another Computer, but using the network and having it operate in a window on My Computer.

Without having to remote connect to the Other computer...

Simply put I want to basically make a shortcut on My Computer that starts a program thats installed on another computer but runs it on mine since I opened the Shortcut...

Is this even possible. cuz it would make my job much easier.

Thanks for any help in advance.
__________________

__________________
Tatsumasa is offline  
Old 09-17-2008, 11:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Running Seperate Installations on 1 Computer?

Not possible. You dont have any of the required files to run the application let alone have the ability to just drag and drop it from that PC to yours.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 09-18-2008, 01:41 AM   #3 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default Re: Running Seperate Installations on 1 Computer?

Like an application that runs via thin client? Sure. Depends on the program, but it is nothing different than applications that run on a citrix client or something else like terminal services. Again, you can't just pick a client out of thin air that will run like this, has to be one that supports running on a thin client, but... the logic is the same. Not just as easy as setting up the short of the application to another computer and running it... but it can be almost that easy. Either way, the logic is the same... meat and potatoes of the application resides on another computer and all of the functionality is vailable on the client you run it on without having the heavy footprint of the application running on the client that you are on. Just what is absolutely necessary to run the application in a think client mode.
__________________
mikesgroovin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is there software available to tell me what running in my computer system? tuprox Off Topic Discussion 7 11-29-2007 07:53 PM
computer hang on some installations?? mouse moves BlkShdw88 Microsoft Windows and Software 7 07-04-2007 05:07 AM
Log of computer that is running really slow dario03 HijackThis Logs (finished) 3 06-25-2007 01:50 PM
Computer restarting when running full screen applications zinch_smug Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 9 03-25-2007 12:28 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.