Router Problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Internet > Computer Networking and Internet Hardware
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-16-2008, 07:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
What choice did I have?..
 
SuxoR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: TX (Soon CA)
Posts: 412
Send a message via AIM to SuxoR
Default Router Problem

Hey guys I've been having this problem with my router, the user name and password keep resetting themselves. Anyone know why this is happening?

I know the user name and password I set but it stills says it's wrong

Just throwing this out there
Thanks guys
__________________

SuxoR is offline  
Old 08-16-2008, 10:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Router Problem

Hello,

Has the router been set back to default? I would check that for sure. I would also make sure that the password and username is hard to guess. Could be that it is getting hacked by a neighbor and changed. Only if it is WiFi though.

Cheers,
Mak
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 08-17-2008, 11:10 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 93
Send a message via AIM to NetCablesPlus Send a message via Yahoo to NetCablesPlus
Default Re: Router Problem

A good thing to do with any router that seems to be having problems is to go to the manufacturer's website and download the latest drivers for the router. Can work wonders some times.
NetCablesPlus is offline  
Old 08-17-2008, 02:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: Router Problem

If you know your way around your router then i would reset the entire router. There should be a little black button that you can push with a pen head or paper clip. Hold that button for 20 to 30 seconds and the router will reset itself. At that point you will have to log onto the router via hard wire connection (192.168.1.1) and type in the default user name and password (usually admin/admin, or admin and no password). At that point I would automatically setup a STRONG password on your router. Then call your ISP and get your setup instructions from them (entering your default gateway and what not). Then go in and setup a wirless (if needed) connection ENSURING that you again is a strong password (WPA or WPA2) on the signal.

Hope that helps.
__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Internet connection sharing behind a router KSoD Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 8 03-01-2016 11:32 AM
problem with linksys router bkolk Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 9 06-03-2008 09:56 AM
Wireless router and DHCP problems Screamsalvation Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 6 10-28-2007 02:21 PM
Netgear Router Problem fifreak3 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 7 08-22-2007 04:39 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.