Router constantly dropping connection

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lachesismoirae

Beta member
Hey there, this is my first time posting. I'm having this issue, I think with my wireless router, and so I'm turning to the internets for advice!

OK, well, I have an Asus laptop that I use for gaming, specifically MMORPGs like Warcraft and Champions Online. However, I'm experiencing constant lag spikes and occassional dropped connections. Its really frustrating!

I'm not sure where the problem is, but I think its my wireless router. I've used my laptop on other networks with absolutely no lag issues. However, when friends visit they are able to run Warcraft on my network without these lag spikes either.

I get fairly good results when I run Speedtest.org--

Currently I have I linksys WRT110 router, as seen here: (Newegg.com - Recertified: LINKSYS WRT110-RM IEEE 802.3/3u, IEEE 802.11b/g, IEEE802.11n Draft RangePlus Wireless Router)

So my question is, is there a way to fix this problem? Do I need a new router? If so, which one should I buy to ensure there is no more connection dropping? Thanks!!

Hhmmmmmmmm,

Is it a recert like the linked one?

Have you got the newest firmware in it.
Have you recently added new phones in your house or other electrical devices, or moved them around.
Do you have the newest wifi drivers for the comp?

You can go into the router config page, and change the channels. The default is 6, so changfe it to an end one.. channel 1 or 11.

I'd go through your 'puter and make sure you're up todate on all your drivers and winupdates.

Welcome tol the forum

No, I don't think its a recert. My roommate bought it, so I'll need to ask him about the recert, firmware, changing the channel, etc. He doesn't game, so he isn't particularly concerned about the issue.