Remote Access? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Internet > Computer Networking and Internet Hardware
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-06-2004, 04:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 6
Default Remote Access?

I work as a computer tech for a small company. This company is growing rapidly so they are asking for things that are a little over my head. I work in an office in NY. The company just opened a small office in MA and are planning on opening an office in PA and FL. Each small office will have around 5 people. My boss wants these smaller offices to be able to connect to our NY server to access files remotely. He also wants people to be able to access the server from on the road. Up to this point we have used PCAnywhere for remote access from the road but that won't help with the new offices. I was thinking about a VPN (I only know a little about them), not sure if it will work with the amount of connections the company wants. A RAS server also crossed my mind but I don't know anything about them. Any ideas???

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciate it.
__________________

Briny319 is offline  
Old 10-06-2004, 09:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 6
Default

No reply? Can anyone help?
__________________

Briny319 is offline  
Old 10-06-2004, 11:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

I would use VPN. Its more cost effective.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 10-07-2004, 08:43 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 9
Default

VPN is an excellent recommendation to make the initial connection to the remote locations, and if each location has a solid firewall ... there won't be a need to open ports (i.e. 5631, etc.) behind the firewall.

Once the VPN is established, you can use one of the "VNC" [RealVNC, TightVNC, etc.] packages (first choice), pcAnywhere (second choice), or Remote Desktop (last choice) to tap directly into one of your remote systems. VNC provides for much faster graphics than pcAnywhere, and VNC and pcAnywhere don't lock out users while you do what you need to do.
!AAATechOne is offline  
Old 10-07-2004, 11:35 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 6
Default

Thanks for the reply guys. How many locations can I connect with a VPN?
Briny319 is offline  
Old 10-07-2004, 10:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 6
Default

Anyone there?
Briny319 is offline  
Old 10-15-2004, 10:59 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 97
Send a message via AIM to wead
Default

same deal here I work in NY too. You know what I am doing. We got MS exchange servers and they come with microsoft outlook web access and the ability to host websites via : inetpub/webroot....
I made some folders for users and then some html for files and thats how we host the files. Through a website that requires user verification to access them. Since its an ip addy and not a domain hackers wont really target it.
__________________

__________________
-Download wead antivirus today using your brain!-
wead is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.