RAID1 with server 2k3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Internet > Computer Networking and Internet Hardware
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-20-2010, 08:22 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2
Default RAID1 with server 2k3

Hi all,
fairly new at this but eager to learn....

I have setup my own little network at home. Server 2003 with 5 pc (winXP & win7) but something is bugging me.
Did I do my raid wrong???
I have setup my server 2k3 on a 80gb, in the same tower I have added a couple of terabytes hard drives that I have setup in raid1 (software).
My question is, if my 2k3 ever fails, will I be able to still access my data on the raid or will I be screwed. If yes, I can I fix that and prevent this.
I'm starting to think that my server2k3 should had been on the same hard drives that are setup
as raid !!! Would it be better to you use (add) a pci raid controller instead?
thank you so much for helping me understand this bettter....
__________________

__________________
ex291 is offline  
Old 02-20-2010, 08:41 AM   #2 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default Re: RAID1 with server 2k3

typically ppl will mirror their OS drive and setup raid5 for user data.

if the 80 gb is not in a raid array, then its not being protected. To me, it sounds like your only protecting your user data. You could lose your OS config, program files, etc.

edit - http://www.adaptec.com/pdfs/raid_soft_v_hard.pdf

edit2 - Software vs. hardware RAID: Tips on striping, mirroring, and striping with parity

Quote:
Finally, let's address the issue of software vs. hardware RAID. As one member pointed out, software RAID is like playing with fire. If you have a server hiccup, you could have some data loss issues. However, even though RAID hardware has come down in price, it's still not always feasible for organizations to incur the additional expense, or perhaps you're using older servers that don't have RAID hardware. In these cases, if you want to further protect your data, use software RAID. It's definitely better than having no RAID at all! And, Windows 2000 and Windows Server 2003's handling of these kinds of scenarios is really pretty good, though not as reliable as a hardware solution.
__________________

office politics is offline  
Old 02-20-2010, 08:50 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2
Default Re: RAID1 with server 2k3

Quote:
Originally Posted by office politics View Post
typically ppl will mirror their OS drive and setup raid5 for user data.

if the 80 gb is not in a raid array, then its not being protected. To me, it sounds like your only protecting your user data. You could lose your OS config, program files, etc.

edit - http://www.adaptec.com/pdfs/raid_soft_v_hard.pdf
I can live with the 2k3 not being protected.. (it sucks but I should have thought about but I added these extra after so...) I just don't want to lose my other stuf..i'm just concerned since the raid was activated from the 2k3.. if this one fails.. how would the raid react...
thanks
__________________
ex291 is offline  
Old 02-20-2010, 06:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default Re: RAID1 with server 2k3

good article on w2k3 raid

Windows Administration: Redundancy On A Budget: Implementing A RAID File Server
office politics is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Folding at Home Guide! Burn Folding @ Home 116 01-08-2011 01:10 PM
F@H GPU 6.23 is saying it can't download updates ? -RockMan- Folding @ Home 15 02-14-2010 09:50 AM
Setting up SMP james.wired Folding @ Home 91 01-13-2010 05:06 PM
microsoft server licensing for virtual environments office politics Microsoft Windows and Software 1 09-03-2009 08:19 PM
Terminal License Server - Expired !! roumieh2000 Microsoft Windows and Software 2 09-04-2008 12:46 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.