Is This Possible in any way?? New and Big Idea - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Internet > Computer Networking and Internet Hardware
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-12-2004, 01:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2
Default Is This Possible in any way?? New and Big Idea

I was thinking about this problem and I have a suggestion/looking for suggestions

I know Windows/unixes have a hosts file, where you can specify the name ip address mapping. This is prior it goes to the DNS server, for ip lookup.


say ip is 66.22.33.44 (registered with www.ragnarok.com)

PC1 192.168.1.100
PC2 192.168.1.200

if router does not support loopback, and if we have a webserver on PC1, then if anyone goes to www.ragnarok.com, then it comes to PC1 (port 80 is forwarded on the router, of course)

But if we try www.ragnarok.com from PC2 it shouldnt work (right ??, because router does not support loopback)

So we can put an entry in PC2s host file sating that
if anyone tries to access www.ragnarok.com, dont go to the DNS server to resolve it ( as 66.22.33.44 ) but use 192.168.1.100

Is there are way we can do this kind of thing for ip address translation. (hosts file works only for name lookup)

that it someone looks for 66.22.33.44 substitute 192.168.1.100 instead.

Anyone know how to do this??? Any ideas??



This is what loopback is:

Say your router has:
External IP: 66.182.2.4
Internal IP: 192.168.1.1
Ports 2302-2311 -> 192.168.1.10
Ports 2312-2321 -> 192.168.1.11

PC #1
IP: 192.168.1.10

PC#2
IP: 192.168.1.11


Peer-to-Peer games need to all talk to each other. Your internal machines need to talk to each other through the external IP address. So if 192.168.1.10:2302 sends a message to 66.182.2.4:2312 that message needs to be sent to 192.168.1.11:2312 and it needs to look like it came from 66.182.2.4:2302. It will then talk back to 66.182.2.4:2302 which needs to be sent to 192.168.1.10:2302 and look like it came from 66.182.2.4:2312

So.. Internal traffic that is addressed to the external IP on a port that is forwarded needs to be translated by NAT. Some support this.. some don't


...lemme know if this is possible or need more info...
__________________

__________________
dubLe E is offline  
Old 03-13-2004, 08:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

I'm kind of confused about what you are asking.
Do you want to try and access your website from an internal PC? I'm not quite sure about what you are trying to do. Please be a little more specific. You can disregard the explainations......the informational items, although correct, are throwing me off a little I think.

-Mike
__________________

__________________
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 03-14-2004, 08:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2
Default

do you think tricking the dns lookups would work??


I want to try to trick a look up of my external IP to my other machine (however dns only does names to numbers, right?)

i wanna know this cause im tryin to get a game (Age of Empires 2) to work...i wanna have 2 computers online playing in same game/same room...all at the same time...
__________________
dubLe E is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.