Port forward - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Internet > Computer Networking and Internet Hardware
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-02-2006, 04:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 188
Default Port forward

Well im trying to forward ports for torrents which are 6881 - 6889
right? My router is not listed in portfoward.com so i need your guys help. Now i got 2 screens i found to forward ports but dont know which one to use nor how to use it.




__________________

__________________
Outsider1120 is offline  
Old 03-02-2006, 10:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

The top first image is for port forwarding. Enter the name of the program you want to serve, ext port you can put 6881, select both TCP and UDP if you want, int port 6889, then put the ip address of the computer that is serving, click enable.

The second image I believe is UPnP port forwarding, basicly it does the same shiet, but I guess it's use for common application. I have both of these setting on my router, but I only use the normal port forwarding.

You may have to configure both if I'm not mistakening, but I'm not sure myself.
__________________

__________________
Law is offline  
Old 03-03-2006, 07:44 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 188
Default

I did this but its not working



__________________
Outsider1120 is offline  
Old 03-03-2006, 04:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

top img is wrong. that config is saying route traffic from the inet on port 6881 to ip 192.168.1.3 on port 6889

clear this entry and try again
office politics is offline  
Old 03-04-2006, 12:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 188
Default

I really dont know what to do... how would i fill it out properly.

And is the 2nd image correct
__________________
Outsider1120 is offline  
Old 03-05-2006, 11:38 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 188
Default

So what would i put in all the entries to make it work?
__________________

__________________
Outsider1120 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.