PC Anywhere from hotels to home network - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Internet > Computer Networking and Internet Hardware
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-29-2004, 12:45 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 7
Lightbulb PC Anywhere from hotels to home network

I need to log into my home workgroup computers when on the road. I am able to use pc anywhere when connected to the same lan but cannot when trying to access from an outside network. Any suggestions?
__________________

__________________
brodie1227 is offline  
Old 02-29-2004, 01:03 AM   #2 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

Sure....from inside your own LAN, you only have to use a computer name or internal IP address. (Ex. 192.168.0.100)
But when you are outside of your home LAN, you cannot use a computer name or internal IP address. You'll have to use your external IP address. First how is your home network setup? Are you using a gateway/router??? If you are, you'll have to open up two ports on your gateway/router to forward to the internal IP address of the computer that you want to colnnect to. The default ports for pcAnywhere are 5631 and 5632.

-Mike
__________________

__________________
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 02-29-2004, 01:45 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 32
Default

How secure is PC anywhere? I use a combination of putty, ssh server (home PC), and VNC to connect to my home computer. With this combination I can also retrieve files from and hide my internet traffic at my remote location.
__________________
extralov is offline  
Old 02-29-2004, 02:16 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

i agree with mike. also you may consider using DNS service to map your dynamic external IP. http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=6848

extralov you have the option to use encryption with PCA. it is very secure
__________________
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 02-29-2004, 02:17 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 7
Default

Thanks Mike. SO I need to configure an incoming port and set my laptop to connect to this port through my external ip address? My router is a dlink wireless with no firewall. Please advise further if you have time. Thanks
__________________
brodie1227 is offline  
Old 02-29-2004, 02:20 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 7
Default

Thanks ek. I am mediocre would appreciate basic instruction.
__________________

__________________
brodie1227 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.