Opening Ports for an Unturned Server - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Internet > Computer Networking and Internet Hardware
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-07-2018, 05:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
dwarfdude77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 270
Default Opening Ports for an Unturned Server

Hi, I recently tried to forward the port 27015 using both TCP and UDP protocols, and setting both the internal and external ports to 27015, in order for my friends to play on my Unturned server. However, after following multiple tutorials and actually having successfully forwarded ports previously (years ago for a Minecraft server, although this was using a different router), I was not successful and my friends (at their separate houses) could not connect to the server using my external ip and the port that I forwarded, 27015. The PC I am running the server on has a static internal ip, and that ip is listed in the port forwarding entry. The PC also does not have any firewalls/antivirus other than basic Windows Defender. I have also used an online port open checker which has told me that the specified port (27015) is not open. Spectrum is my internet provider and I'm using a TP‑LINK Cr700 AC1750 modem/router combo. Any suggestions?
__________________

__________________
- Cam :D
dwarfdude77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2018, 09:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Spud1200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: England, UK
Posts: 2,356
Default Re: Opening Ports for an Unturned Server

Quote:
Hi, I recently tried to forward the port 27015 using both TCP and UDP protocols, and setting both the internal and external ports to 27015, in order for my friends to play on my Unturned server.

Quote:
However, after following multiple tutorials and actually having successfully forwarded ports previously (years ago for a Minecraft server, although this was using a different router), I was not successful and my friends (at their separate houses) could not connect to the server using my external ip and the port that I forwarded, 27015.

Quote:
The PC I am running the server on has a static internal ip, and that ip is listed in the port forwarding entry. The PC also does not have any firewalls/antivirus other than basic Windows Defender.

Quote:
I have also used an online port open checker which has told me that the specified port (27015) is not open.
In a DMZ the ports would be Open.

Any suggestions?


Can you not set up a DMZ with in the Router it self.

How are you connecting to the said clients being your friends Systems. Is their options with in the Router such as Software for an external tunnel to be created between Server and Clients. Clients and Server. What is the actual method of connection between the two different Geo Locations.
__________________

__________________
Spud1200 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2018, 10:03 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
dwarfdude77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 270
Default Re: Opening Ports for an Unturned Server

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spud1200 View Post
In a DMZ the ports would be Open.

Any suggestions?


Can you not set up a DMZ with in the Router it self.

How are you connecting to the said clients being your friends Systems. Is their options with in the Router such as Software for an external tunnel to be created between Server and Clients. Clients and Server. What is the actual method of connection between the two different Geo Locations.

1. What is a DMZ?


2. Last time I forwarded ports I was using Fairpoint and their router/modem rental they gave us... I ended up calling them in order to forward ports and doing the same exact thing I have done here on my end, and it worked. They must have done something on their end that made it work...?


3. Again, DMZ?


4. The actual method of connection...? Well, they're using their Unturned clients to connect to the server, it just asks you to put in an external ip to connect to and then the port with which to connect with, however this has never worked for them.
__________________
- Cam :D
dwarfdude77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2018, 09:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
 
iFargle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: N/A
Posts: 4,170
Default Re: Opening Ports for an Unturned Server

DMZ is the "demilitarized zone". General rule of thumb is to NEVER put things there unless absolutely required (as there is no firewall at all protecting it)

Check the local firewall.

can you connect to the server from the internal IP on that port?
__________________

iFargle.com
7700k 32GB RAM 512GB 960 Pro GTX 1080 NCase M1
15" Retina MBP || 128GB OnePlus 6 || 64GB iPad Air 2
Battle.net: iFargle #1561 || Steam: iFargle
iFargle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2018, 10:17 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
dwarfdude77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 270
Default Re: Opening Ports for an Unturned Server

Quote:
Originally Posted by iFargle View Post
DMZ is the "demilitarized zone". General rule of thumb is to NEVER put things there unless absolutely required (as there is no firewall at all protecting it)

Check the local firewall.

can you connect to the server from the internal IP on that port?

1. Thanks for the info.


2. What is the local firewall? I've made sure that firewalls on my pc are all set, and additionally turned off my modem's firewall.


3. You can indeed connect to the server from the internal IP on that port (same network connection obviously)
__________________
- Cam :D
dwarfdude77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2018, 10:40 AM   #6 (permalink)
 
iFargle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: N/A
Posts: 4,170
Default Re: Opening Ports for an Unturned Server

Can you post a screenshot or let me know how the port was forwarded?
Correct port to port mapping and correct IP address?
__________________

iFargle.com
7700k 32GB RAM 512GB 960 Pro GTX 1080 NCase M1
15" Retina MBP || 128GB OnePlus 6 || 64GB iPad Air 2
Battle.net: iFargle #1561 || Steam: iFargle
iFargle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2018, 12:50 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
dwarfdude77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 270
Default Re: Opening Ports for an Unturned Server

Quote:
Originally Posted by iFargle View Post
Can you post a screenshot or let me know how the port was forwarded?
Correct port to port mapping and correct IP address?
Image 1.png


My pc's static internal IP is 192.168.1.150, so that lines up as well.
__________________
- Cam :D
dwarfdude77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2018, 12:53 PM   #8 (permalink)
 
iFargle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: N/A
Posts: 4,170
Default Re: Opening Ports for an Unturned Server

I dislike ambiguous icons for things like this.. Does that little light bulb mean it's enabled or disabled? It looks like a light bulb that's off to me
__________________

iFargle.com
7700k 32GB RAM 512GB 960 Pro GTX 1080 NCase M1
15" Retina MBP || 128GB OnePlus 6 || 64GB iPad Air 2
Battle.net: iFargle #1561 || Steam: iFargle
iFargle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2018, 12:59 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
dwarfdude77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 270
Default Re: Opening Ports for an Unturned Server

When you click the lightbulb, it turns the port off, like this
Image 2.jpg
So when you actually modify the entry and lightbulb doesn't have the little red thing next to it, then you can see that the "Enable" box is indeed checked.
Image 3.png

I hate ambiguous icons for stuff like this as well .
__________________
- Cam :D
dwarfdude77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2018, 01:05 PM   #10 (permalink)
 
iFargle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: N/A
Posts: 4,170
Default Re: Opening Ports for an Unturned Server

Hm... It's very unlikely your ISP is blocking this port. Are you using the correct external IP to connect?
__________________

__________________

iFargle.com
7700k 32GB RAM 512GB 960 Pro GTX 1080 NCase M1
15" Retina MBP || 128GB OnePlus 6 || 64GB iPad Air 2
Battle.net: iFargle #1561 || Steam: iFargle
iFargle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
opening internet ports sendoh23 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 3 07-06-2004 01:25 PM
Opening all ports for game? Tallyrand PC Gaming 4 06-05-2004 01:51 AM
Opening Ports on a router Soaks921 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 1 01-01-2004 11:58 PM
Norten Firewal, opening ports A_Zip1 Microsoft Windows and Software 0 12-13-2003 03:29 PM
Opening ports on firewall Sicilianmandoli Microsoft Windows and Software 3 12-08-2003 07:04 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.