One user on wireless network can't connect...

Status
Not open for further replies.

gneville16

Beta member
Hi, I'm not genius on networks so please go easy with the technical terms, but at the same time I'm not a novice either so you shouldn't need to write a novel to explain the solution (I hope).

I'm at uni living with 3 other people - total 4 computers including me, 2 laptops and 2 pc's. I bought a linksys wireless router/gateway which came with a free laptop wireless card - I use that. The other 3 have belkin cards, so 1 belkin laptop card and 2 belkin pc cards. All computers can connect to the network except for one of the pc's, although having said that it can connect when it connects by itself with no security on the network. As soon as one of the other computers tries to surf the internet the whole network dies and nobody can get on - the router then disappears from the available wireless networks list until it is restarted.

Since we're all paying for the internet it is a big problem, i don't want to be lending my laptop everytime the other person needs it!

Everyone is now on windows xp pro although the computer tha doesnt work was on Home till I upgraded it thinking that was the problem. His computer also won't allow SP2 to be installed, when I double click it it just won't open, works on everyone elses computers though. Is it a problem that SP1 users can't be on the network with SP2 users? I have no idea personally, his computer is off ebay and although it's spec is good it appears to be a little dodgy - beeps a lot and he just had to buy a new keyboard for it as the one he got was bodge.

Anyway, I'll leave that with you, if there is any more information that you need then I should be able to reply pretty quickly as I'll be refreshing this page regularly waiting for a reply.