No Upload on Slave Router

mtemsah61

Beta member
Dear Community,

I will try to explain my problem as clearly as I can. If I missed any piece of info that can help you address it, please tell me and I'll try to provide it.

I have a main router (master), which is provided by my ISP for fiber optic connection, and a router I installed in the other half of the house (slave), to help improve wireless network over there.

The problem is that devices connected to the slave are having no/terribly low upload speeds. This is for both wired and wireless connections to the slave.
- The routers are connected via ethernet cable
- DHCP is disabled on slave
- IP address is outside the master's DHCP range
- Firewall, VPN, and ALG are disabled on slave
- Global Firewall is enabled on master and I CANNOT disable it (option greyed out)

The cable is fine, as I plugged it into the laptop and ran the test (speedtest.net), and got the normal download and upload speeds.
Master: Zhone Technologies ZNID-GPON-2426A-1MB (provided by Mobily in Saudi Arabia)
Slave: Tp-Link TL-WR740N

What else can I do?

...if the slave has an Access Point mode, set it to that. Most routers do not like having the WAN port of it connected to anything other than an actual WAN. You should also make sure the IP falls with in the same subnet...

So if your "master router" has an IP of 192.168.1.x then your "slave" will also need to be set to 192.168.1.x and connect them via the LAN ports and not WAN>LAN unless the AP mode if it has it, requires that.

Also, make sure that they are far enough apart that the wifi signal from one isn't clashing with the other one, that will cause what your experiencing real fast.

To add onto what c0rr0sive stated, I would also set a static channel for each router to make sure it's a different channel. Use this checklist to help out:

• Ethernet from master (LAN port) to slave (LAN port) are in the correct ports.