no internet - multiple routers - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Internet > Computer Networking and Internet Hardware
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-02-2008, 04:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 5
Default no internet - multiple routers

I have an office in a community-style office building (small busineses have thier own rooms). My office has a single ethernet connection coming into the room, which work fine by itself. I am trying to setup a DLink DIR-615 router, to ultimately 1) share internet wirelessly, 2)share our network (IP configurable) laser printer, and 3)share files off the server computer through a network to be accessed by other employees laptops via wireless connection.

PROBLEM:
When connecting the DLink to the existing ethernet connection in the room, the internet connection is lost and will not route wirelessly or to the wired ports. I assume it is because the connection coming into my room is off a main router/switch being monitored/maintained by the buidlings management.

Any idea how I can get my router to split the internet connection by only having to change the DLink configuration settings, while still preserving the routing capabilities so I can setup my network?

Thanks in advance.
__________________

__________________
mortrix is offline  
Old 01-02-2008, 04:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: no internet - multiple routers

I had a similar problem when i tried to hook my router back up. Basically what i was told to do is turn everything off and turn them back on in order starting from the wall out. So you would want to turn the router on, might even have to reset it so that it starts passing out ip addresses, then everything that hooks to the router. Was somewhat of a pita to get mine working again, but i havent had to touch it since.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 01-02-2008, 05:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 5
Default Re: no internet - multiple routers

I currently only have one computer hooked up to the router when testing the internet connection.

The internet connection coming from the existing ethernet connection in the room works only when directly connected to a computer. When I connect the cable into the router, I lose internet connectivity, both wirelessly and through the wired ports.

I want to take the internet connection that currently only works when directly connected to a computer, and share that working connection using the router. This is my problem.
__________________
mortrix is offline  
Old 01-02-2008, 08:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: /usr/root/mn/us
Posts: 1,118
Default Re: no internet - multiple routers

It depends on the setup of the network.
They could be using mac filtering. If that's the case, go into your DLink and find the page that will allow you to ghost the mac address of your computer onto the router.

Other than that I would work with whomever manages the current connection.
__________________

Its a frigging Laptop, not a Labtop!!!!
bla!! is offline  
Old 01-03-2008, 12:29 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
cliffhucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Silly Valley
Posts: 298
Default Re: no internet - multiple routers

Change the IP address on your router. It is probably the same address as the network the ethernet cable is coming from.

they both might have:
http://192.168.1.1/

so change yours to:
http://192.168.2.1
__________________
My Rig: "Sandy" used for stock trading
Windows 7 pro
Case-Corsair Obsidian550D
Motherboard- ASrock X79Xtreme6 LGA 2011
CPU- I7-3930K Sandy
PSU- Seasonic X650 Gold
SSD- Corsair Neutron GTX240
HD- WD 1TB Sata6 64MB
Ram-Corsair Vengeance 16gb (4x4gb)
GPU- 3x EVGA Geforce GT-640 2GB 128B
Cooling- Monsoon S2 & SwiftechMCP655-PWM
Alphacool 80mmx120mm rad
XSPC RX120 rad
3 Noctua 140mm
5 120mm Gentle typhoons
NZXT fan controller
Razer Black Widow Chroma keyboard
Razer deathadder chroma mouse
4x27", 2x19", 1x24", 1x36" & 1x55" monitors
cliffhucker is offline  
Old 01-03-2008, 09:24 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 5
Default Re: no internet - multiple routers

I've tried cloning my computer's MAC address to the router and no success.

I changed the router address from 192.168.0.1 to 192.168.2.1 and no luck.

Could it be DHCP?

Here is the "ipconfig /all" when connected WITHOUT the router and only connected to the computer, resulting in a working internet connection:
Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom NetLink (TM) Gigabit Ethernet
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-C0-9F-D3-27-75
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.1.1.89
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 10.1.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 12.109.148.226
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 12.127.17.71
216.73.128.2
12.127.16.67
216.73.128.3
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, January 03, 2008 10:11:02AM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Friday, January 04, 2008 10:11:02 AM

When I check my IP address online, it comes back as 12.109.148.243

I'm confused as to why the router shouldn't be working when I plug in a working internet connection. Could the building's IT dept have something blocking my router from splitting the signal on thier side? I can't deal with them directly as they don't allow the use of routers (want to make us pay for extra connections in the room).

Thanks again in advance.
__________________
mortrix is offline  
Old 01-03-2008, 12:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mBernhardt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Ohio
Posts: 279
Default Re: no internet - multiple routers

Is the computer that works your own that you bought or was it supplied by them?

Was there any software that you had to install that allowed you to use the internet?


From the sounds of it they may have implemented some sort of Port-Based Authentication. (802.1x, or similar)
__________________
"i would never use a firewall, even without a router protecting me. Firewalls are just wastes of memory."
name omitted to protect the innocent

the cake is a lie
mBernhardt is offline  
Old 01-03-2008, 01:26 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 5
Default Re: no internet - multiple routers

Any computer can be connected and the internet will work. Both laptops that have used the ethernet are personal and there was no software installed prior to internet use.

It seems like it may be a router confirguration problem. I doubt the building's tech department is sophisticated enough to block my router. Other offices have wireless setup (some are even unprotected) so I definitely think its possible. Maybe a hardware problem?
__________________
mortrix is offline  
Old 01-03-2008, 02:14 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: no internet - multiple routers

Completely possible. Do you have broadband at home? Might try the router there to see if it works.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 01-07-2008, 08:09 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 5
Default Re: no internet - multiple routers

Hardware problem. I replaced the router and all works perfectly now. Thanks for you help!
__________________

__________________
mortrix is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The end of net neutrality = bad kfc469 Off Topic Discussion 34 08-27-2009 07:03 AM
A little bit about MPLS Tierzero Off Topic Discussion 0 09-13-2007 02:04 PM
Help with internet connection sharing!! philbar71 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 08-06-2007 04:05 PM
Hijack This Log Sobriquet. HijackThis Logs (finished) 25 04-27-2007 01:07 PM
Wierd domain and internet problem roumieh2000 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 04-17-2007 12:47 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.