Networking/LAN issues - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Internet > Computer Networking and Internet Hardware
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-14-2004, 01:37 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 170
Send a message via AIM to Spartan 1394
Default Networking/LAN issues

I have three computers: The Dell running windows ME, a Gateway running windows NT, and my custom built one running XP. The network was working fine but just stopped. Now almost nothing works. The Dell does not see either of the other two computers, but the Custom and the Gateway will see each other and the Dell, and can even get files from the Dell. But when I try a game (Ghost Recon, Rainbow Six 3) they do not see each other. Nor can I share the internet connection. I have them set to static and unique IP's but the Dell still does not see any others. TCP/IP is installed and so is IPX, firewall is disabled also . I really need help on this one, any help would be appreciated.
__________________

__________________
<img src=\"http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v210/alienhunter2049/Mysig.png\">

\".......die screaming with sharp things in your head\"

Proud Bush supporter.
Spartan 1394 is offline  
Old 10-14-2004, 04:36 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 28
Default

Make sure that the workgroups are the same by right clicking on My Computer and clicking Properties. Then on win XP click on Computer name. You will see were it says "To rename this computer or join a domain click Change" well click change. Then just make sure the work group is the same name as the other computers. It is the same concept for the others too. Hope this helps.
__________________

xtreme35967 is offline  
Old 10-14-2004, 01:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 170
Send a message via AIM to Spartan 1394
Default

I tried switching the Workgroup name from MSHOME to WORKGROUP and then none of the computers could see each other, so I switched it back to MSHOME and they could see and share files. But no dice on Internet connection sharing. I think there is something wrong with TCP/IP because I fired up Icewind Dale II and went to IPX started a game server on the Custom and the Dell was able to see it and connect to it and play. Ghost Recon, Rainbow Six, and BHD still do not work. Does anyone have any idea on what could be wrong with TCP/IP?
__________________
<img src=\"http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v210/alienhunter2049/Mysig.png\">

\".......die screaming with sharp things in your head\"

Proud Bush supporter.
Spartan 1394 is offline  
Old 10-14-2004, 02:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 56
Default

well you can go as afar as uninstalling and reinstalling TCP/IP on each machine. also what you can try is creating users for each computer. meaning. whatever username you log into the custom computer with add that user to the other 2 machines and take the username for the dell machine and add that user to the other 2 machines and keep doing that unitl each computers username that you log in with is on each machine
funknuts is offline  
Old 10-14-2004, 03:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

what firewall did you disable? 3rd party or xp or both?
office politics is offline  
Old 10-14-2004, 07:06 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 170
Send a message via AIM to Spartan 1394
Default

Quote:
well you can go as afar as uninstalling and reinstalling TCP/IP
I'll try that.

UPDATE: I tried uninstalling TCP/IP on the Dell and reinstalling it, no luck there, and the XP machine doesn't have the option to uninstall TCP/IP.

Quote:
what firewall did you disable? 3rd party or xp or both?
I had Zone Alarm, but I disabled that before this started happening.
__________________
<img src=\"http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v210/alienhunter2049/Mysig.png\">

\".......die screaming with sharp things in your head\"

Proud Bush supporter.
Spartan 1394 is offline  
Old 10-15-2004, 12:34 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 28
Default

make sure that your IP Addresses are in the same range ex:

192.168.1.1
192.168.1.2
192.168.1.3

make sure that every computer has the same first three numbers
xtreme35967 is offline  
Old 10-15-2004, 08:17 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 170
Send a message via AIM to Spartan 1394
Default

Thanks everyone for your help. I figured out the problem: I disable Zone Alarm through msconfig , come to find out truevector(I think) still runs in the background, keeping me from see anyone and vice versa. So un-installing it fixed it. So (most)games work now. Thanks again
__________________

__________________
<img src=\"http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v210/alienhunter2049/Mysig.png\">

\".......die screaming with sharp things in your head\"

Proud Bush supporter.
Spartan 1394 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.