To network or not? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Internet > Computer Networking and Internet Hardware
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-11-2017, 07:40 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: England
Posts: 1
Default To network or not?

Hi I'm new to this forum so apologies if this has been covered before.
I am after some advice regards my son's Laptop, He is heavily into his music and the laptop isn't powerful enough to keep running all of the music programs he uses at the same time. He uses a mixture of Rekordbox, Ableton, FL studios as well as youtube and general web browsing. Because he is asking the laptop to control multiple programs aswell as power his Decks and launch pad, it keeps buckling under the pressure and crashing.
I had an idea but need to know if it is feasible? if i bought a powerful Desktop base unit (i have seen some with an i3 6100/7100 processor and upto 32gb Ram) loaded all of the programs onto the base unit and used the laptop to access it remotely could this solve his problems. the laptop would still need to control the decks and launchpad but is it possible to use the baseunit just for its processing power as a sort of cloud based system and the laptop as a sort of terminal to access the desktop remotely?
Just as a side note, i am looking at this rather than just replacing the laptop as the baseunit will A) be much cheaper than a laptop B) be much higher spec from the offset C) be upgradeable in the future.

Any help you guys can give me or links you can give to enable me to read up on this will be greatly appreciated

Thanks
__________________

ianmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2017, 11:30 AM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 27,912
Default Re: To network or not?

There will be too much latency between the two units to properly playback and edit music while his decks are connected to the laptop.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HP Photosmart C7200 does not find my wireless network - wireless radio is not functioning rocio_yanez Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 11-04-2011 04:04 PM
\\Computer is not accessible. The network path was not found. cdplayer Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 8 08-29-2005 12:12 AM
A network within a network Discusman Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 23 04-16-2004 08:10 PM


Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.