Netstat Port activity "Doom" - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Internet > Computer Networking and Internet Hardware
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-28-2006, 01:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2
Default Netstat Port activity "Doom"

Hi all,

I'm using Vodafone's Mobile Connect (vodem) GPRS/3G network to access the interet, and have Zone Alarm firewall and AVG 7.5 anti virus.

I've run the netstat command and there is a huge list of items...

Please see the attached image - there are loads (and i mean loads - screenshot is just a small selection) of ones that say DOOM and on various TCP ports (NB my pc is called DOTNINE)

Now doom sounds to me like a virusy type name - ive done virus and spyware check and nothing comes up.

I'm also running Skype btw.

any ideas what this means and shud I be worried?!

Many thanks in advance
Rob
Attached Images
File Type: gif netstat.gif (53.1 KB, 40 views)
__________________

rjbathgate is offline  
Old 12-28-2006, 10:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
LA1
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: eastcoast
Posts: 453
Default

Umm I think I remember a while back a "doom" trojan or something. Try running this program it is a full working program that will stop working after 30 days if not purchased. Do not forget to go into config and check the radio button to up date on start up , then close her down and start her up. Scan your computer. Make sure your internet is on first if you have dial up b4 updating defs.
http://www.download.com/3000-2239-10...age&tag=button
__________________

__________________
LA1 is offline  
Old 12-30-2006, 02:36 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2
Default

thanks m8... have run a spyware checker previously and nothing was picked up... will run another and try again

ta
rjbathgate is offline  
Old 12-30-2006, 06:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 303
Send a message via AIM to T1junkie
Default

you can use Sysinternals TCPView to see what processes are opening the connections, looks like Microsoft bought out sysinternals... *sheds a tear*

http://www.microsoft.com/technet/sys...g/TcpView.mspx
__________________
IBM/Lenovo T43 2687DSU
Pentium M 2.0Ghz
1024 MB (DDR2 SDRAM)
80 GB Ultra ATA, 5400 RPM
14.1\" LCD
Windows XP Pro
DVD-R
64MB ATI MOBILITY RADEON X300
Integrated 802.11A/B/G, Bluetooth, 10/100/1000 Eth.
T1junkie is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.