NETOPIA 3347W router - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Internet > Computer Networking and Internet Hardware
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-05-2004, 09:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 9
Default NETOPIA 3347W router

we use a NETOPIA 3347W router connected to 4 computers with 4 different ip addresses, what we need to know is how specify only the IP I want to connect to the router like reestricting the access to it thanks
__________________

jacven is offline  
Old 11-06-2004, 07:19 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 9
Default

I mean router configuration
__________________

jacven is offline  
Old 11-06-2004, 07:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 28
Default

Not sure what you're wanting to accomplish - if you simply want to restrict access to the router, use a secure username / password. If you want to restrict Internet access, I imagine the routher has a scheduler to allow/restrict access to the Internet.
jfolkert is offline  
Old 11-06-2004, 07:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 9
Default

I have a win2k server connected to a router, this gives my server an IP: 64.x.x.x and my real server IP is 192.x.x.x

At the server we installed Windows Terminal Services and we are able to access from the Internet.

Our worry is that the server is exposed to hacker attacks, it currently does not have a software firewall, however I checked the router admin panel and it has some firewall settings but I dont understand....

So, but is the best practice for protecting our server? does Win2k Server has its own protection or something like that?

Thanks a lot,
Jac
jacven is offline  
Old 11-06-2004, 07:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 28
Default

3347W ADSL Smart Modem
The Netopia 3347W is an 802.11b ADSL wireless gateway designed for residential and SOHO applications. The 3347W combines a built-in ADSL modem along with a Wi-Fi certified 802.11b wireless LAN and a four-port 10/100 Ethernet switch. The 3347W delivers unparalleled wireless coverage and superior broadband performance.

Sounds like you've got a decent router / firewall. Here's what I suggest:

Internet -> 3347 -> Internal Network.

Curious about your security? http://scan.sygate.com/
jfolkert is offline  
Old 11-06-2004, 07:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 9
Default

hi thx for the list, ok i made it and found:

1. determined server IP address
2. gathered information about: OS, browser, was unable to determine computers' name
3. found 2 services running: webserver and SMTP mail service.

Now, is this good or bad?

THank you.
jacven is offline  
Old 11-07-2004, 03:02 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 28
Default

1. IP address is published everytime you do anything on the Internet.

2. This happens to everyone.

3. That's definitely not good -- if you don't need either a email or webserver - uninstall Information Internet Services (IIS).
jfolkert is offline  
Old 11-07-2004, 07:28 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 9
Default

Ok thanks for reply, ok then I will uninstall these 2 services because we don't really use them.

We really need more security, what do you suggest besides uninstalling email and web services?


VPN for instance? Thanks for your time.
jacven is offline  
Old 11-07-2004, 07:35 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 28
Default

VPN is only useful for remote user access (Home access to corporate network).

I strongly suggest the following: patch every system (windowsupdate.microsoft.com), run anti-virus (AVG Soft), run a personal firewall (ZoneAlarm), use a strong password on every machine, and run anti-spyware (Lavasoft Adaware, SpyBot).

I am assuming you're running wireless?

Let me know if you have any further questions.
jfolkert is offline  
Old 11-07-2004, 07:37 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 9
Default

hi, we access the server from 2 countries, no, for the moment we're not using wireless. The server is only accessed by 3 clients (2 win2k pro and 1 winxp Pro)

because of the remote access we thought about VPN
__________________

jacven is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.