netbooks can only go to google??? What is happening? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Internet > Computer Networking and Internet Hardware
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-23-2010, 01:40 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mikesx4911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: chicago, IL
Posts: 356
Default netbooks can only go to google??? What is happening?

Ok, I have two netbooks, they are acer aspire ones, I just purchased one last night I took it out the box used it for a while and it was working good, surfed the internet for a bit. Than I decided to load up Windows 7 on it. After the install I installed some software and such, and than I decided I wanted to go and install firefox. So i went to google first and it came right up but than when I tried to go to firefoxs site it would just hang while loading. After about 5 mins I came to the conclusion i could only go to google and do a search, but whenever i tried to go outside of google it would never load. I pinged yahoo and some other sites and it was working, but it never loads up on IE. My other netbook does the same as well which is running windows 7, and it only happens at my home network. I must ask WHAT THE **** IS GOING ON? lol Im very curious now. ANyone ever had this happen before? And whats the solution?
__________________

__________________
mikesx4911 is offline  
Old 02-23-2010, 09:55 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
joelm3103's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: -Trinidad- and Tobago, Caribbean.
Posts: 1,750
Default Re: netbooks can only go to google??? What is happening?

Seems weird, what are all the software installed between the time Windows 7 was installed to Firefox being installed? Also is IE loading any pages at all? Is it set to "Work Offline"? Also you set up the network home or someone else did?
__________________

__________________
Need to update my siggy!
joelm3103 is offline  
Old 02-23-2010, 12:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mikesx4911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: chicago, IL
Posts: 356
Default Re: netbooks can only go to google??? What is happening?

Quote:
Originally Posted by joelm3103 View Post
Seems weird, what are all the software installed between the time Windows 7 was installed to Firefox being installed? Also is IE loading any pages at all? Is it set to "Work Offline"? Also you set up the network home or someone else did?
The only thing I installed between windows 7 and firefox was office 2007 and that was it. The only thing IE loads is google and thats it lol, and its not set as offline. I set up the network, and I have checked everything and it should be connecting lol.
__________________
mikesx4911 is offline  
Old 02-23-2010, 01:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
joelm3103's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: -Trinidad- and Tobago, Caribbean.
Posts: 1,750
Default Re: netbooks can only go to google??? What is happening?

Have you checked all the settings on your router? Is it blocking any specific websites? If you try to load something else on IE or Firefox, what happens next? Does it time out or just loads slowly?
__________________
Need to update my siggy!
joelm3103 is offline  
Old 02-23-2010, 02:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mikesx4911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: chicago, IL
Posts: 356
Default Re: netbooks can only go to google??? What is happening?

Quote:
Originally Posted by joelm3103 View Post
Have you checked all the settings on your router? Is it blocking any specific websites? If you try to load something else on IE or Firefox, what happens next? Does it time out or just loads slowly?
yup, I have checked everything on the router, i disabled everything on it temporaily and still the same issue. If I try to load up something on IE or Fox it just load hella slow, and never shows up lol. Im going to call comcast and tell them to upgrade my router, I heard a lot of people had a firmware update and that fixed it or just got another router.
__________________
mikesx4911 is offline  
Old 02-23-2010, 02:19 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
joelm3103's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: -Trinidad- and Tobago, Caribbean.
Posts: 1,750
Default Re: netbooks can only go to google??? What is happening?

Ah well wish you luck. Be sure to post back results on the new router or firmware upgrade .
__________________
Need to update my siggy!
joelm3103 is offline  
Old 02-23-2010, 02:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mikesx4911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: chicago, IL
Posts: 356
Default Re: netbooks can only go to google??? What is happening?

I believe its the network card, it works ok in xp but not in vista/windows 7. I have only had issues from netbooks running same OS. But I will posts my results, thanx :-)
__________________
mikesx4911 is offline  
Old 02-23-2010, 02:25 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
joelm3103's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: -Trinidad- and Tobago, Caribbean.
Posts: 1,750
Default Re: netbooks can only go to google??? What is happening?

Have you checked all the drivers and making sure they're up to date? Especially since you just installed Windows 7.
__________________
Need to update my siggy!
joelm3103 is offline  
Old 02-23-2010, 02:40 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mikesx4911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: chicago, IL
Posts: 356
Default Re: netbooks can only go to google??? What is happening?

Quote:
Originally Posted by joelm3103 View Post
Have you checked all the drivers and making sure they're up to date? Especially since you just installed Windows 7.
well everything had a driver but i did not update the driver for the network card, i guess i could try it for the **** of it.
__________________
mikesx4911 is offline  
Old 02-23-2010, 02:42 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
joelm3103's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: -Trinidad- and Tobago, Caribbean.
Posts: 1,750
Default Re: netbooks can only go to google??? What is happening?

Lol yeah trying updating your network driver. You can check the manufacture's website and see what's the latest drivers they got and install it...but that would involves going out of google . If you have another PC available, you can download the driver updates if there is any, transfer it to your PC with the problems and try.
__________________

__________________
Need to update my siggy!
joelm3103 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Google and Microsoft sued for links to filesharing sites Harper Polls 0 12-11-2009 06:34 PM
Published Google Docs Documents To Appear In Google Search Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 09-21-2009 08:11 AM
Google Releases Google Chrome 3 Osiris Internet Software and Browsers 3 09-16-2009 09:00 AM
Google Chrome Anonymizer Osiris Internet Software and Browsers 0 09-07-2008 10:19 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.