Need help setting up PFSense.. Quite the n00b; despite my understanding of VPNs .. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Internet > Computer Networking and Internet Hardware
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-12-2018, 11:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Spud1200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: England, UK
Posts: 2,239
Default Need help setting up PFSense.. Quite the n00b; despite my understanding of VPNs ..

I've downloaded the latest Ver. of PFSense and installed it on my Rack. I am very much new too the overall capabilities of PFSense and what it can achieve.

Despite my understanding of VPNs I'm am baffled by it and have no idea were too start.

When I was presented with the set up wizard I did not know weather too input my ISPs DNS or my VPNs or something like Google. Thats how much I know.

I'm curious if any one can guide me to understanding how this works. I have two NICs on my Rack Mount but even under standing that when I started out with this was a major problem.

Very much the newbie to this.

If anyone is able to offer any advise or guide me threw the set up of the open VPN I'd be grateful or even post a guide if you can.
__________________

__________________
Spud1200 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2018, 12:00 AM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 29,141
Default Re: Need help setting up PFSense.. Quite the n00b; despite my understanding of VPNs ..

More of a Cor thing since I haven't used pfsense in forever.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2018, 03:28 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Spud1200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: England, UK
Posts: 2,239
Default Re: Need help setting up PFSense.. Quite the n00b; despite my understanding of VPNs ..

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
More of a Cor thing since I haven't used pfsense in forever.
I in boxed c0rr0sive and I'm gonna give it a shot today. I need too go messages and do things to day but later on I'll be sat in front of my PC most of the day hopefully so again hopefully I'll get this up and running.

I'm really interested in it PP, I've been watching YT Videos on it and managed learn quite a bit but if I can route my Home Connection threw my PFSense Server I'll be a lot happier.

Its more of an interest than a necessity. I just like too learn about these things. Keeps me occupied. ..
__________________
Spud1200 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
n00b, newbie, pfsense, router, security

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PFSense Build AndyH Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 1 02-20-2017 01:43 AM
PfSense to Openwrt on alix board xamxam Linux and Open Source 2 05-09-2016 08:11 AM
Protecting Anonymity with Hotspot Shield/Other VPNs RusticBohemian Internet Software and Browsers 1 05-24-2012 12:45 AM
Remote Desktop & pcAnywhere vs VPNs KShef Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 09-24-2005 02:08 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.