My ethernet port doesn't work - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Internet > Computer Networking and Internet Hardware
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-13-2009, 05:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Druid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,065
Default My ethernet port doesn't work

I bought one of those internet powerline adapters so I could go wired instead of wireless, but it wouldn't work so I thought there was an issue with the setup. However, I tried it on the other computer in the same room and it worked fine. How can I make my ethernet port work? I don't need a network card or something, do I?
__________________

__________________
Druid is offline  
Old 01-13-2009, 10:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: My ethernet port doesn't work

Closed other thread.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 01-17-2009, 11:09 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Druid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,065
Default Re: My ethernet port doesn't work

Does anyone know anything? Should I have put this in hardware troubleshooting instead?
__________________
Druid is offline  
Old 01-18-2009, 12:04 AM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: My ethernet port doesn't work

Check your device manager. Is the Ethernet card listed as working?
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 01-18-2009, 04:57 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Kharn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7,638
Default Re: My ethernet port doesn't work

An the BIOS I have seen a fair few mobo's where you can disable the enthernet port.
__________________
Visit this and do something for the world!
www.hackersforcharity.org

Want to do even more? Take a look here and join the fight on human trafficking.

Hear and you forget, see and you remember, do and you understand.

Kharn is offline  
Old 01-18-2009, 01:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Druid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,065
Default Re: My ethernet port doesn't work

Where am I supposed to look for it?

Under ports (com and lpt) it says
- communications port (com1)

Under network adapters it says
- 1394 net adapter
- hamachi network interface
- linksys wireless-G usb network adapter with speedbooster
__________________
Druid is offline  
Old 01-18-2009, 02:36 PM   #7 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: My ethernet port doesn't work

So does any of them have a Yellow ! by them? Have you double clicked on them all and seen if it says that they are all operational and enabled?
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 01-18-2009, 07:26 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Druid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,065
Default Re: My ethernet port doesn't work

Things with yellow:
Other pci bridge device
PCI memory controller
SM Bus controller

These things and the other things I listed are all enabled.
__________________
Druid is offline  
Old 01-18-2009, 10:00 PM   #9 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: My ethernet port doesn't work

Well i would seriously look into getting ALL of your drivers working. The PCI Memory Controller and SM Bus Controller are usually not good to have disabled. IT could very well be that they are the reason why it isnt working.

Before you ask where to get the drivers, check your manufacturer's website. If you dont know what devices they are for try Everest, SiSandra Software or Belarc Advisor.

Also add yoru chipset drivers to the list as well.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 01-19-2009, 12:58 AM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Druid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,065
Default Re: My ethernet port doesn't work

Wait the pci memory controller and SM bus controller are enabled though I thought. Does that yellow ! mean they aren't enabled? When I double click it says enabled.

Edit:
__________________

__________________
Druid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Just set up new wireless router, speed help? And ethernet cable cost Q? Secret Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 3 09-06-2008 10:47 AM
BSOD no error message rushman Microsoft Windows and Software 20 05-31-2008 11:26 PM
What's your work schedule like? Ethereal_Dragon Off Topic Discussion 21 08-29-2007 09:54 AM
New Macbook pros mrpiddly Apple and Mac 4 06-19-2007 08:03 AM
VGA Port vs. DVI->VGA Connector Port Crazydog115 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 04-16-2007 04:56 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.