Multiple Programs Working Off Of One User Database

Status
Not open for further replies.

PCOA CEO

Beta member
Hopefully I'm not posting in the wrong place, I couldn't figure out if the Linux board would be better.

I'm trying to make my Forum (phpnuke 7.9), wiki (Mediawiki 1.11.0), and Blog (wordpress, I don't have the version written down), work off of one user DB, but I'll explain my intended goal, since I'm most likely trying to achieve this the wrong way. (I'll also add, I'm savvy with tech, but I have no degree or "expert" knowledge overall, I work on a website with no assistance, most of my members aren't tech savvy, so it's a one man show to work with).

I'm tired of, and I know my members must not enjoy, having to login at different areas to use them, instead of logging in once and roaming around from forum, blog, wiki, etc. While being logged in, in each one with no need to log in at each division. :freak:

How would I make one login somewhere (or just one main page to do it if needed), "register" to other applications. Wether the wiki can do this or not I don't know, I believe it runs off of a cookie system to know wether or not your even logged in.

Anyway, any advice or knowledge is appreciated, I'm totally in the dark on this. :D

My advice would be to look for a system that utilizes a single signon. I realize that this means you will lose your existing user accounts and more than likely all your content. But, its something to consider.

Otherwise you'll have to re-code 2 of the 3 (or all 3) applications to use the userbase from whichever you choose. That can really be a pain depending on how each application handles its user accounts and session data.