Monitoring internet access

Status
Not open for further replies.

scoil44

Beta member
I'm a college student @ Pitt-Bradford.
We have a 1gb/24hr bandwidth limit here.
I have gone over that limit twice already.
If I go over again, I lose my internet for the rest of the season.

What I'm looking for is a way to limit my download amount per day, be it through a software package or something built into windows. I can't add a router with out going through **** from IST (they use MAC address filtering and some fancy hardware to ensure you don't try to spoof them.)

So you have multiple users on your network who use to much bandwidth and you want to find a way to limit them to a certain amount per computer?

Because at first when I was reading your post, it sounded like you wanted to limit yourself....which is odd..and I'm wondering why can't you just control yourself. :p

lol. I actually do want to limit myself. The campus bandwidth meter is updated for the rooms hourly, so I'm not always sure what my exact usage is. That, and I often let my compy run downloads while I'm at class, so I can't really monitor it.

The best way to do this would be to limit yourself from downloading files.... I would have to asume that you are downloading from P2P software. 1 Gig in 24 hours is alot of info to be downloading. If there is a limit, just space out your downloads so that you don't exceede the limit.

well, right now I'm trying to grab a few distros for some friends, and each one can run 700 mbs a pop.

Asside from self management, is there any way I can do this?

Talk to you IT people and find out what they use to monitor your bandwidth, they much have a way, since they are tracking it.

http://www.download.com/Bandwidth-Monitor-Pro/3000-2085_4-10533227.html?tag=lst-0-1

is one, try searching the download sites to look for monitors. Also, if you really are having trouble, there are two things you can do.
1) tell your roommate to not download so much, (if its on a per room basis)