Limited or no connectivity ... very strange.

Status
Not open for further replies.

ckshowtime

Solid State Member
Let me preface my post by saying that I am a noob on this board (obviously), I did brief search and no other thread fit my current situation. And a small warning....this could be very long winded.

I have 2 desktop PC's, and a laptop I use to work from home once a week. Only my primary desktop PC is pulling a true IP address and getting connectivity when plugged directly into the cable modem (Charter). At times I can unplug the primary desktop from the modem and plug my secondary desktop PC directly into the modem and get it to pull an IP address and connect. This is not the case for the laptop though.

I don't know how to describe my "set-up" other than PC turned on and plugged in. I purchased a Netgear DS108 8-port hub yesterday and connected all my devices.

Port #1 connects to modem.
Port #2 connects to primary PC
Port #3 connects to secondary PC
Port #4 connects to Xbox
POrt #5 connects to wireless router.

I haven't changed a thing on either desktop PC since they were formatted last, and that was months ago. My primary desktop PC is running Windows XP, secondary desktop PC is running Windows Vista, laptop is running Windows XP.

I haven't changed anything in my OS or in the Network Connections, from what I can see DHCP is enabled on both desktop PC's, and I didn't check the laptop because it always connected wireless. Obviously the wireless is on the back burner until I can get my connectivity figured out.

I ran it by a couple guys I am friends with who have experience with Networks and they were stumped. Any ideas would be great, I will be more than happy to run a hijackthis tonight and post them as well.

So the way I see it your problem is you can't get the laptop to connect. First connect the wireless router straight to the modem. Just to simplify things.
Can the laptop 'see' the wireless router at all?