Limewire Wont connect - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Internet > Computer Networking and Internet Hardware
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-12-2008, 10:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Limewire Wont connect

Well, since a couple months back Limewire stopped connecting to the network. I checked that my ports are free, and windows firewall has an exception made as well.

Think my ISP is blocking it? All my other P2P programs work fine (utorrent and emule) just limewire wont connect, and ive tried several versions already.

My ISP is SBC/AT&T DSL.

Ideas??
__________________

__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 09-13-2008, 12:37 AM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Limewire Wont connect

I would say ISP. But i dont see how they could block that and not any other P2P stuff. Does Limewire use a specific port or can you adjust it?
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 09-13-2008, 12:47 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: Limewire Wont connect

Never mind, i uninstalled it and installed Frostwire and ive got full connection.

By default Frostwire uses a different port so i guess thats why it connects now, but im too lazy to uninstall it and reinstall Limewire again and change it to Frostwires port.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 09-13-2008, 01:57 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techalicious
 
Redmo0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,566
Send a message via MSN to Redmo0n
Default Re: Limewire Wont connect

Why do you use Viruswire in the first place?
__________________
Back to stay?
Redmo0n is offline  
Old 09-13-2008, 03:15 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: Limewire Wont connect

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redmo0n View Post
Why do you use Viruswire in the first place?
Ive never gotten a virus from it, i use nod32 plus two firewalls (windows and hardware firewall) and i dont download 128kb files which are clearly not songs.

Its great for those quick downloads, cause torrents are for large downloads.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 09-13-2008, 11:48 AM   #6 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default Re: Limewire Wont connect

There's nothing wrong with Limewire for small "legal" downloads. People just know it's widely used for just that, so they decide to upload junk, adware, spyware and viruses. Same thing happened to BearShare, WinMX, eDonkey, Napster, et cetera, et cetera... Disliking a file sharing program because of the people that use it or how popular it is ... thats just silly

If you are smart and download intelligently, you can avoid the junk very easily.
__________________
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 09-13-2008, 08:39 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
nu2duo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Neza
Posts: 423
Default Re: Limewire Wont connect

But that's the problem with the majority of Viruswire users. They don't download responsibly.

Just last week I went out to reformat and reinstall windows on two separate pc's. They both were infested with viruses thanks to Limewire.
__________________
e6600@3.1 24/7 w/stock cooling. 2g Transcend Memory
3 hd's, 80-XP Pro, 500 and 320-Apps,Pics, Music, Videos
ATI Radeon HD 3450 512MB-I DON'T GAME!
Ultra PS, Ultra Mid Tower Case
Lite-on internal DVD-R, Samsung Lite-Scribe Ext. DVD-R
2 Acer 19" widescreen LCD's. For HTPC Olevia 32" LCD
nu2duo is offline  
Old 09-14-2008, 02:00 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: Limewire Wont connect

Im not a regular user, as you should be able to tell.

So its great for me.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 09-14-2008, 11:33 PM   #9 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Re: Limewire Wont connect

Use Bitlord..

Limewire's full of viruses... I've gotten two from there in the past.. One crashed my system.
__________________
Antec-User is offline  
Old 09-14-2008, 11:51 PM   #10 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,363
Default Re: Limewire Wont connect

BitTorrent doesn't have a search function :P

Frostwire is good for small quick downloads, if you don't download the ridiculous looking files you won't get viruses, and if you download in Linux, you won't get any viruses.
__________________

__________________

CalcProgrammer1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Internet connection sharing behind a router KSoD Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 8 03-01-2016 10:32 AM
RIAA and Limewire superdave1984 Off Topic Discussion 13 05-21-2008 11:16 AM
New pc components, formatted harddrive and won't connect tried all I know: IGeMex Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 3 08-13-2007 02:30 PM
I need to connect another computer to the internet bbcudenver Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 5 06-06-2007 06:11 PM
So I changed operating systems, and now I can't connect to the internet... GRYT7 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 10 05-28-2007 11:56 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.