Laptop screws the network when turned on - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Internet > Computer Networking and Internet Hardware
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-14-2010, 09:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,420
Default Laptop screws the network when turned on

I've been working on a laptop for someone. I cleaned it up and updated it, yada, yada, yada. One of the problems I was told it was having was that IE wouldn't connect a lot of the time and that it wouldn't let her get on the internet.

Once I had done everything to it, I found that she was right. I couldn't find anything wrong with IE, and went through several things to try to see what it might be. I did not uninstall/reinstall it, but I did try to install over it (Vista wouldn't allow it as the updated version on the laptop was newer than the downloaded version).

Once a hunch, I just fired the lappy back up to try it. I was finishing up a post on here at the same time. When I went to submit the post, it said that I wasn't connected to the server. I hit try again and resend about four times, nada. So I opened up IE on the lappy and it couldn't connect to its homepage. My connection was working fine up to this point.

I killed IE and shut down the lappy. When I resent my post, BAM! No wait, no fuss, without a hitch.

Sooooo..... What in the world is going on here? Why would a laptop completely screw my router when it is on? The laptop is connecting wirelessly and my desktop is wired.

The laptop is running 32-bit Vista Home Premium (fully patched, btw) and IE8 (Chrome connects just fine, even when IE won't). It is a Dell Inspirion 1526. I updated all the drivers while I was working on it. It uses a Dell Wireless 1390 WLAN Mini-Card.

My router is a Linksys WRT54G. I forget which version, but it is one of the old ones.

Anyone got any answers or ideas on this one?
__________________

__________________
Cougar MX330-G / Antec EA650 650W / ASUS GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5 / AMD Ryzen 5 1600 / MSI B350 Gaming Plus
Samsung 970 EVO 250GB M.2 SSD / WD Blue SSD 250GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB / Win10 Pro x64 / Mionix Naos 7000 / Tecware 87 Key Mechanical

R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 02-14-2010, 09:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default Re: Laptop screws the network when turned on

someone else had a similar situation, recently. i think it was hefe that suggested resetting winsock.

How to determine and to recover from Winsock2 corruption in Windows Server 2003, in Windows XP, and in Windows Vista
__________________

office politics is offline  
Old 02-14-2010, 10:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,420
Default Re: Laptop screws the network when turned on

Good thinking, but no dice. I reset Winsock and it had no effect on it. And it still messes up my network when it is up, or at least when IE is open.

EDIT- Chrome is having the same issues. It just told me that the link was broken when I told it to go to Google.
__________________
Cougar MX330-G / Antec EA650 650W / ASUS GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5 / AMD Ryzen 5 1600 / MSI B350 Gaming Plus
Samsung 970 EVO 250GB M.2 SSD / WD Blue SSD 250GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB / Win10 Pro x64 / Mionix Naos 7000 / Tecware 87 Key Mechanical

R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 02-14-2010, 11:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Laptop screws the network when turned on

That is a bit strange. Have you checked for ip conflicts?
anything strange like ICS turned on?
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 02-15-2010, 01:45 AM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,420
Default Re: Laptop screws the network when turned on

ICS is not turned on, but you got to to digging...

When I tell it to diagnnose the problem, it pulls up "The TCP setting is not compatible with your router." There's not much out there, but it seems to point to Vista wanting to use TCP over DHCP.

I just disabled IPv6 and am rebooting. Let's see if this does anything.

EDIT- I had a glimmer of hope, but then I got "The TCP setting is not compatible with your router" again. If I tell it to fix the problem (Turn off whatever TCP setting is incompatible), it seems to work... until it is booted again. And it is still scrambling my network while it is on/has IE open.
__________________
Cougar MX330-G / Antec EA650 650W / ASUS GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5 / AMD Ryzen 5 1600 / MSI B350 Gaming Plus
Samsung 970 EVO 250GB M.2 SSD / WD Blue SSD 250GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB / Win10 Pro x64 / Mionix Naos 7000 / Tecware 87 Key Mechanical

R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 02-15-2010, 02:07 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Kharn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7,638
Default Re: Laptop screws the network when turned on

UnPnP enabled on your network mate?
__________________
Visit this and do something for the world!
www.hackersforcharity.org

Want to do even more? Take a look here and join the fight on human trafficking.

Hear and you forget, see and you remember, do and you understand.

Kharn is offline  
Old 02-15-2010, 02:10 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Laptop screws the network when turned on

blow out the network settings on the vista machine and start over.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 02-15-2010, 02:12 AM   #8 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,420
Default Re: Laptop screws the network when turned on

Not sure, Saxon. Too tired to look right now.

Got a link for that, Hefe?

I'm off to bed. If I get up early enough I will have a go at it first thing. If not, it will have to wait until I get home from taking the wife to the doctor.
__________________
Cougar MX330-G / Antec EA650 650W / ASUS GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5 / AMD Ryzen 5 1600 / MSI B350 Gaming Plus
Samsung 970 EVO 250GB M.2 SSD / WD Blue SSD 250GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB / Win10 Pro x64 / Mionix Naos 7000 / Tecware 87 Key Mechanical

R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 02-15-2010, 02:13 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Kharn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7,638
Default Re: Laptop screws the network when turned on

If it isn't mate enable it and see if that gives you a usable connection.
__________________
Visit this and do something for the world!
www.hackersforcharity.org

Want to do even more? Take a look here and join the fight on human trafficking.

Hear and you forget, see and you remember, do and you understand.

Kharn is offline  
Old 02-15-2010, 02:15 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Laptop screws the network when turned on

try this for a start from a cmd as admin.

netsh int ip reset resetlog.txt

If that does not work we will fix it up tomorrow.
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
home network problem wiZ_z Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 1 11-23-2009 03:56 PM
Linksys WAP11 Wireless-B Network Access Point Osiris Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 1 11-16-2009 10:12 PM
Laptop won't connect to my home network ShannonRyu Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 5 03-24-2008 06:46 PM
Network questions Vista laptop Shane12m Microsoft Windows and Software 2 09-14-2007 02:04 PM
XP PC networked with Vista laptop mnelson07 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 9 08-06-2007 05:57 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.