laptop cant see my home wifi network until router restarted arris SBG6900-AC - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Internet > Computer Networking and Internet Hardware
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-11-2018, 03:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,010
Send a message via AIM to raverx3m
Default laptop cant see my home wifi network until router restarted arris SBG6900-AC

this is in addition to having other issues described

had thie modem for little less than 2 years its arris SBG6900-AC modem router
this just started happening

for last year or so it would randomly not connect to the internet
all devices would be connected to the wifi and show good signal etc but when i run the troubleshooter it shows no connection to internet

then last few months the tv would drop the wifi. that went away . not sure why now it works

now my wife's laptop would show every wifi network except our wifi
i reset her wifi card etc. drivers firewall all kinds of things
but when i restarted modem/router it starts working again.
this happened twice already.

ive been googling the sht out of it and see no results that are related to this issue

everyone says to reset/ reboot everything blah blah


when the laptop and router communicate can the laptop affect router in any way ?


or can it have something to do with my VPN?
does vpn affect router in any way at all?
__________________

__________________
I HATE FIREFOX!!!!!!!I don't care if its what you use!!! I use IE and will continue using it...
(64 bit win7)(6gb dual chnl ram)( Gigabyte EP43-UD3L)(Q8400-2.67ghz Core2 Quad)
(120gb SSD 840 PRO)(4 tb WD storage)(GeForce GTX 650Ti (GV-N65TOC-2Gi)
raverx3m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2018, 08:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 29,327
Default Re: laptop cant see my home wifi network until router restarted arris SBG6900-AC

Idk man with all the issues you're having it might sound like your modem bit the dust or is on it's way.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2018, 02:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,010
Send a message via AIM to raverx3m
Default Re: laptop cant see my home wifi network until router restarted arris SBG6900-AC

why would it not show on only one computer?

my tv, desktop another laptop and 3 phones all connect to it with no problem

I never had an issue with it not being visible to any other devices

lol I feel like theres electronics gremlins in that house.
or maybe that land is cursed by electronic demons or some crap
constantly having issues with electronics and then turns out something really simple or it goes away on its own before I can figure out whats happening
__________________
I HATE FIREFOX!!!!!!!I don't care if its what you use!!! I use IE and will continue using it...
(64 bit win7)(6gb dual chnl ram)( Gigabyte EP43-UD3L)(Q8400-2.67ghz Core2 Quad)
(120gb SSD 840 PRO)(4 tb WD storage)(GeForce GTX 650Ti (GV-N65TOC-2Gi)
raverx3m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2018, 03:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,010
Send a message via AIM to raverx3m
Default Re: laptop cant see my home wifi network until router restarted arris SBG6900-AC

happened again few days ago
so I updated the windows on that laptop
checked bunch of other settings etc
restarted multiple times
"power cycled" the wifi card
reinstalled driver
poked around everywhere I could

ONLY that laptop doesn't show my router
it shows every other wifi network in the area
all other devices in the house see my router

I restarted the modem/router and the laptop now sees the network

I was like wtf. its very confusing

can the laptop have any effect on router at all to make it not show up?
__________________
I HATE FIREFOX!!!!!!!I don't care if its what you use!!! I use IE and will continue using it...
(64 bit win7)(6gb dual chnl ram)( Gigabyte EP43-UD3L)(Q8400-2.67ghz Core2 Quad)
(120gb SSD 840 PRO)(4 tb WD storage)(GeForce GTX 650Ti (GV-N65TOC-2Gi)
raverx3m is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
set up a file server on arris surfboard 1900 modem? raverx3m Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 4 02-12-2018 05:42 PM
ARRIS SURFboard SBG6900-AC inconsistent wifi raverx3m Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 12-26-2016 10:43 PM
Bridgemode help required(Dang Arris Box) Xaenon Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 5 12-17-2014 02:35 PM
How many MBPS does the Arris TM602G/CT support? jameslieb1 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 4 07-16-2011 03:14 PM
Uninstalled drivers, restarted computer, network problem! turboxchaz Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 07-24-2008 03:20 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.