LAN ip address computer name will not be shown when assigned static ip address - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Internet > Computer Networking and Internet Hardware
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-07-2019, 02:51 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 230
Default LAN ip address computer name will not be shown when assigned static ip address

Dear folk

My home network setup is LinkSys router WRT1900ACS with mobiles and desktop computers connected wireless and wired

For my desktop if an ip assigned automatically router shows the desktopís name as per the snapshot below :

https://imgur.com/a/6h385zs

If the static ip address assigned router shows asterisk as per below :

https://imgur.com/a/aYxPBMo

How the name can be shown when static ip assigned ?

Thanks
__________________

__________________
zillah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2019, 02:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 30,062
Default Re: LAN ip address computer name will not be shown when assigned static ip address

I don't think you can actually change that.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2019, 03:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
U.F.O.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: USA
Posts: 221
Default Re: LAN ip address computer name will not be shown when assigned static ip address

Also why does it matter? Dhcp or static, as long as it gets good ip and subnet and can get online, why do you need the hostname?

Ps. Maybe take the screenshot down. Mac address if known to attacker is used by them to predend to be a device and get on your router.

Or my favorite, pretend their router is yours and get it to connect all your devices and image them all and roll out with everything.

At least if you think the photo will help someone solve it, mspaint over the mac address with spray can or something and repost.
__________________
U.F.O. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Full drives suddenly shown as not formatted? RagingBuddhist Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 10-01-2006 01:43 AM
drive letters not assigned to new harddrives psychoduck Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 09-15-2005 07:02 PM
Slave hard drive letter not assigned syb-pi Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 05-06-2005 04:25 AM
ME not shown on network neighbourhood linux1880 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 1 08-10-2004 09:14 AM
Ris O.s Chooser Not Shown synctriangle Microsoft Windows and Software 1 04-30-2004 04:03 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.