Just a question... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Internet > Computer Networking and Internet Hardware
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-18-2010, 09:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
joelm3103's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: -Trinidad- and Tobago, Caribbean.
Posts: 1,750
Default Just a question...

So I'm reading my Year 1 book for networking (got resit exam tomorrow) and reading about logical and physical topologies. Just asking, how much importance is this to real life? Can you tell what exact topology a network is using by using 1 PC connected to it? It kind of confuses me, stating that a logical topology can be used on a different physical 1 and so on...really don't get it lol.

So how do you state what topology you're using, if you got a network at home?

Blowing of some steam from studying and just thought I'd ask, if anyone knows .
__________________

__________________
Need to update my siggy!
joelm3103 is offline  
Old 02-18-2010, 10:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Indiana
Posts: 29
Default Re: Just a question...

Logical topology just means how the network is arranged. What the network "looks" like. How the devices communicate.

With a Hub and Spoke logical topology, it is like a bike wheel. You have the hub or center, which can be a real hub; switch; router; etc..., with devices all connected to it.

In the example I listed above, in the physical topology they could all be in one rack in a wiring closet.

I hope that helps somewhat. If you have more questions, please ask.
__________________

__________________
Venom8151 is offline  
Old 02-18-2010, 10:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
joelm3103's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: -Trinidad- and Tobago, Caribbean.
Posts: 1,750
Default Re: Just a question...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Venom8151 View Post
Logical topology just means how the network is arranged. What the network "looks" like. How the devices communicate.

With a Hub and Spoke logical topology, it is like a bike wheel. You have the hub or center, which can be a real hub; switch; router; etc..., with devices all connected to it.

In the example I listed above, in the physical topology they could all be in one rack in a wiring closet.

I hope that helps somewhat. If you have more questions, please ask.
Yeah it helps and thanks . Just wanna know though, is this like have any heavy relating to real life? Like if you go into a business, can you tell what topology is used just by using 1 PC or you have to go through all the equipment relating to it? Also in the IT department, is this stuff necessary or can you just set up a network without thinking about a specific topology?
__________________
Need to update my siggy!
joelm3103 is offline  
Old 02-19-2010, 02:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Indiana
Posts: 29
Default Re: Just a question...

Quote:
Originally Posted by joelm3103 View Post
Yeah it helps and thanks . Just wanna know though, is this like have any heavy relating to real life? Like if you go into a business, can you tell what topology is used just by using 1 PC or you have to go through all the equipment relating to it? Also in the IT department, is this stuff necessary or can you just set up a network without thinking about a specific topology?
Hmmm. Not 100% on the first question, however I would say not really. You would more than likely have to look at their equipment to know what kind of set up they are using.

For the most part, companies are all hybrid topologies now. No Token Ring, or bus topologies. If you have to set up a entirely new network for a company, you would not use Token Ring or bus. It would be just a standard mesh and star hybrid topology. You have all your switches and router connected like a mesh. All your end devices would connect in a star pattern to the switches. Like in this horrendous Paint image I just made.



Ethernet has really made networks easier to set up on the physical level. So, to finally answer your second question. You do have to think a lot about the layout as per ease of access, efficiency, etc..., however, you will just about always use some sort of mesh/star topology these days.
__________________
Venom8151 is offline  
Old 02-19-2010, 04:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
joelm3103's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: -Trinidad- and Tobago, Caribbean.
Posts: 1,750
Default Re: Just a question...

Ah now it makes sense to me , thanks for the replies Venom, it was much appreciated .
__________________
Need to update my siggy!
joelm3103 is offline  
Old 02-19-2010, 10:20 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Indiana
Posts: 29
Default Re: Just a question...

No problem. I am glad to be able to put some of me education to use.
__________________
Venom8151 is offline  
Old 02-19-2010, 10:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
joelm3103's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: -Trinidad- and Tobago, Caribbean.
Posts: 1,750
Default Re: Just a question...

Haha, well yeah it's for good use . Loving your diagram also, it makes stuff really simple lol.
__________________
Need to update my siggy!
joelm3103 is offline  
Old 02-19-2010, 10:59 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Indiana
Posts: 29
Default Re: Just a question...

Quote:
Originally Posted by joelm3103 View Post
Haha, well yeah it's for good use . Loving your diagram also, it makes stuff really simple lol.
Hahaha. Thank you. I am currently in networking as well. Doing the Cisco route, so networking hardware and topologies are my thing.
__________________

__________________
Venom8151 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rivatuner Question Drewser Overclocking and Modding 2 11-28-2007 03:40 PM
New computer, tell me what you think! and one little question too rgoldberg1 New Systems | Building and Buying 3 11-12-2007 10:19 PM
Power Supply Question + Overclocking Question Grievearz New Systems | Building and Buying 21 09-12-2007 12:59 AM
question about my processor socket siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 04-27-2007 01:14 AM
Help me clear something up please(Fresh install of xp type question) jonny_uk Microsoft Windows and Software 2 04-21-2007 06:38 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.