ISP Problems

Status
Not open for further replies.

kungfukitty

Beta member
Hello Everybody!

I am a newbie here. I am facing a big problem and i need HELP!

I am using a broadband-24-hour-optical-fibre connection. As I own two computers, (both have ethernet cards) I have split my connection using a simple DLINK. (The main cable goes into the DLINK and from there two cables come out, one for each computer)

MY ISP has introduced some authentication software which I had to download from 202.68.129.251 and they gave me a username and a password to login. For this they took my physical address as well.

One computer is my dads and he will NOT allow me to connect my internet through his computer in any way. [scared of viruses i suppose]

I tried connecting to the internet on both computers simultaneously using the same username password combo but it doesn't work.

I called my ISP and asked them to give me another username pwd for my computer but they say I will have to BUY another connection to do that. That costs Rs 10000 anually = USD 250....!!

My internet connection is not working. But curiously enough I can access the website of my ISP from where I'm supposed to download the authentication software. So my connection is still there but its cleverly blocked.

How do I go about keeping both computers online together?

I don't want to connect through my dad's computer. I want to connect as and when I wish irrespective of whether my dads computer is ON or OFF.

So all you smart people in here, do you have a solution....

Kung-fu-Kitty

Okay this sounds weird, but im sure I can figure it out.

Im suprised you UK boys have fiber, do you really have fiber running to your house ?

#1: About the D-LINK, what model and is it a router or a switch?

#2: I dont care about the actual password and crap, but to figure this out I really need to know what it does, could I have a few pics of the authentication software?