Ideal Setup For Shared Folders??

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ares

In Runtime
Ok i need some advice here.

What is the ideal setup config that i should use for my lan network? I've got 2 pc's running win2k pro and another running xp pro. All computers are networked (through a router). What i'd like advice on, is the most ideal, yet still somewhat secure, way of having the SHAREFOLDERS setup on the computers.

I'm new to the whole networking thing, so i'm learning as i go. Some friendly advice from those more knowledgable would be great. Here's what i need to be capable of doing on the Lan. It's pretty simple (atleast right now it is).

I'd like to have a folder set up on my computer that can be accessed by the other computers. I'd like the other computers to be able to retrieve files (copy them to their own hd's) and edit the files in my share if they need to (like if there's a word doc or txt file, etc.). If there's anything i want to share with those computers i'd simply drop my item in the sharedfolder and thats it. I'd like each computer to have a folder like this, so that we all can do that. Also, i'd like to be able to put a file in the other computers whenever i need to.

So, what is the best most ideal way to go about doing this? What are some things i should keep in mind? Any advice or help is appreciated greatly. Should i have it setup so that you have to log in with a password, etc.? What are the different ways i could go about setting up these folders?

first of all, is this private at home? if so, privacy is not a great big thing to worry aobut.

here is how you will make a share on each of the computers so that the toher two has access.

ok, i will call the computers win2k1, win2k2, and winxp.

ok ,first of all, this is the same forall the computers, so i will tell you once.

we will use win2k1 in the example.