i`m very confused

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sisko

Solid State Member
please some one help. i received my new computer today, and i am struggling to sort out my wireless netwrok.

i`m not even a complete newbie to this stuff as my laptop is wireless and i set that up fine.

i don't even know where to start, so if i miss anything please ask and i will try my best to fill in any gaps.

firstly, i get a window saying do i want to use "RT2500 configuration utility" or "windows xp configuration".

if i use the windows xp zero config, the signal strength is very good, but it will not connect to the wireless network. if i use the rt2500 config, the wireless network connects but the signal strength is useless and constantly connects and disconnects. either way i can't use the net obviously. how is this even possible?

there is three other machines using the network, so there is nothing wrong with the router or anythinhg like that.

i have entered all the relevent info in the required fields, ie gateway, dns, ip, etc etc. i really don't have the foggiest whats wrong with the **** thing.

i`m guessing none of this makes any sense to the readers on this forum as i haven't worded it too well. so if you are prepared to give me any advice, please ask me anything and i will try to answer to the best of my ability, and hopefully make sense at the same time :(

I use the windows config utility for mine, but you said you put in all your dns etc doesnt your ISP do that? mine connects to a modem then to the wireless router and my ISP gives that info to my router.

Are you using a password WEP or WPA ?

What speed connection do you have?

In your router settings are you allowing enough IP addresses?

What firewall are you using?