how to network with switch"?

Status
Not open for further replies.

joshnx

Baseband Member
I have 2 pc's and had networked them before ...now i have a switch and a broadband connection n would like to connect the broadband to the switch so that the other computer too can benefit from this connection...the broadband connection requires a distinct ip address and mask and gateways n all..how do i do this? i have 1).plenty LAN cables 2.)one netgear switch 3)2 pc's 3).about 3 - 4 lan cards..4.)one broadband connection

Hello,

I'm no networking expert, but I'm pretty sure you need a gateway between the switch and the modem. I've hardly ever seen a consumer gateway by itself before, only as part of a router (which is essentially a switch and gateway in one box).

It is possible use one of your PCs as a gateway by installing linux (http://www.linuxjournal.com/article/3866), but it can be tricky, especially if you're not comfortable with using linux.

My advice? Buy and use a home router.

Yes, as Alvin mentioned, you will likely need a ROUTER to connect to the broadband modem to perform NAT. The expection to this, is if you have purchased MULTIPLE IP addresses from the ISP (you will know if you did, because they charge you extra). Basically, what NAT does is it takes the ONE public IP address that the ISP gives you, and it assigns that to the WAN port of the router. The computers in your LAN then have PRIVATE IP addresses that are BEHIND the router, and all the computers use that SINGLE IP address for communication with the ISP.

Another option is to connect a computer directly to the modem, and put a 2nd NIC in that computer, and connect the switch to that 2nd NIC. Connect the other hosts to the switch, then enable ICS on the 'gateway' computer...
Computer Technology Forum - Internet connection sharing behind a router

Your most painless option would be to get a router though, they are pretty cheap. You can get a pretty decent Wireless router for under $60