Help with network setup... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Internet > Computer Networking and Internet Hardware
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-20-2008, 05:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Washington
Posts: 9
Default Help with network setup...

Ok, for the 3rd time, im trying to setup my home network. heres what i have:

an XP home laptop w/wireless card
an XP pro desktop
a vista (sorry, i didnt mean to swear) basic desktop
an ethernet switch

i want to plug the 3 computers into the switch and have the 2 desktops be able to use the laptop's wireless connection.

my first problem is when i run the home network setup wizard on the laptop, it gets to the end and says and error occured (doesnt say what) then it tells me to try running it again with different settings (i cant) or to configure the network manually (which i dont know how to do).

heres how the network is physically connected:



the laptop uses a wireless signal from outside the network. id like the 2 desktops to be able to use the wireless network through the laptop.

im not real great with networking, so any help is appriciated!
__________________

__________________
Wicked_Sludge is offline  
Old 12-20-2008, 10:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,387
Default Re: Help with network setup...

So... exactly where is the wireless signal coming from...?
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD Ryzen 5 1600 x6 core / MSI B350 Gaming Plus
Samsung 970 EVO 250GB M.2 SSD / WD Blue SSD 250GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR4 2400 / Win10 Pro x64
Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 12-20-2008, 11:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Washington
Posts: 9
Default Re: Help with network setup...

its coming from outside my apartment (with the owners permission for me to use it).
__________________
Wicked_Sludge is offline  
Old 12-21-2008, 02:00 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Help with network setup...

this thread pretty much explains what you are trying to do. Read through all three pages and start having some fun. check out mikesgrovings post towards the end.
A second router in the form of XP
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 12-21-2008, 02:26 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Washington
Posts: 9
Default Re: Help with network setup...

good information there. i bookmarked it for future use.

but my current problem is that i cant even get my wired connection to show up on the laptop. under network connections, i can see and configure the wireless card, but the ethernet adaptor/connection isnt there at all. when i do the ipconfig/all in a command window, i only get IP info for one connection, the wireless.

under the device manager, both cards show up and it says my ethernet adaptor is working properly.

i know this laptop is capable of doing what i want because i had someone help me set it up this way before with different client computers. im just not sure whats changed between now and then
__________________
Wicked_Sludge is offline  
Old 12-21-2008, 03:07 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Help with network setup...

does your wired lan show up in my network places / network connections? Is it disabled there?
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 12-21-2008, 03:11 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Washington
Posts: 9
Default Re: Help with network setup...

no, it doesnt show up in the network connections. it has to show up in order to right click/disable it....so i dont think its disabled (if it is, i have no idea how to enable it since its totaly missing).

the only evidence that the wired network adapter even exists is in the device manager...
__________________
Wicked_Sludge is offline  
Old 12-21-2008, 03:17 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Help with network setup...

what laptop is it? Lets reinstall the wired lan drivers for it.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 12-21-2008, 03:19 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Washington
Posts: 9
Default Re: Help with network setup...

its an old dell inspiron 1200...im pretty sure i have thoroughly lost the original discs...but i might be able to download drivers from dell....
__________________
Wicked_Sludge is offline  
Old 12-21-2008, 03:24 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Help with network setup...

Drivers & Downloads
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Internet connection sharing behind a router KSoD Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 8 03-01-2016 10:32 AM
Changing Office Network Setup Help! bludtdh Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 03-07-2008 05:12 AM
A little help with my network setup. apoletti Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 9 01-26-2008 06:10 AM
Windows Vista, Wireless network setup, problem connecting. paulinnorway Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 09-01-2007 06:28 PM
Network Setup joey1 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 10 07-12-2007 10:18 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.