Help me forward port 80 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Internet > Computer Networking and Internet Hardware
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-22-2011, 08:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Indeed.
 
Greg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,600
Default Help me forward port 80

Hey. I haven't posted on here in a while But now I'm stumped...

I set up an Apache server and it's accessible on the LAN, and I also got set up with DynDNS. Whenever I load my DynDNS site, however, it brings up the login box for my Actiontec DSL modem. I've already disabled remote management in the modem, and also forwarded port 80 to my router. The modem is using DHCP and assigned the router an IP, so I forwarded to that. The router then forwards 80 to my computer's local IP. But like I said, the modem login is the only thing I get when I connect to my external IP, so I suspect it's a setting in there. Any ideas?
__________________

__________________

Greg is offline  
Old 08-23-2011, 12:34 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,637
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: Help me forward port 80

Definitely forwarding all incoming traffic on port 80 to your router? Definitely sure you're connecting through port 80? Hmmmm....tricky...
__________________

__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 08-23-2011, 02:47 AM   #3 (permalink)
Indeed.
 
Greg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,600
Default Re: Help me forward port 80

I feel dumb. It was bringing up the modem login because I was trying to connect to my external IP while on the local network. I walked down the street with my laptop and it worked just fine on a neighbor's WiFi
__________________

Greg is offline  
Old 08-23-2011, 03:05 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,637
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: Help me forward port 80

Thanks for a good laugh haha, and rest assured I've done worse XD
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 08-25-2011, 07:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
 
iFargle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 4,013
Default

When I set up apache port 80 didn't work for me either.. I heard some ISPs block that port. I changed mine to something else (8080 ) and it worked like a charm.
iFargle is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Port Forward Web GUI? Jayce Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 1 05-16-2011 10:42 PM
Forward port? ZeroShade Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 12 03-29-2008 02:24 PM
Port forward Mentali$T Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 3 05-10-2007 09:23 PM
port forward Latty05 Internet Software and Browsers 1 03-22-2006 07:06 PM
Port forward Outsider1120 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 5 03-05-2006 11:38 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.